Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I give this 5 stars minus the hot sauce. I knew my kids pallets couldn't handle it, so I left it out. This allowed the other flavors in the meat to stand out. I cooked 5 lbs of meat for just 4 hours on high and it was easily done - over 200 degrees in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Delicious! Full of flavor and YES it is SPICY! With a cup and a half of chilies, I hope to kiss a Wild Goose it IS!! PEOPLE, that's the Point! You wouldn't blindly jump off a cliff w/o Knowing what's down there, don't do it with food! THINK BEFORE you make it and ask yourself, do you Want REALLY hot food! THEN jump or stay on solid, boring ground;)) You can always add more chilies or hot sauce later but once its too HOT, hard to unwind that clock. BTW, my family n I love jumping into a pot of this meat! Sour cream/ guacamole is a good way to bring that heat under control.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I have to agree with the other reviewers that say it's missing something. I only had a 2.5 pound roast, but I left the ingredient amounts the same, with the exception of the hot sauce. I only used about 2 ounces of that, but then added a diced jalapeno and cayenne pepper from my garden. I threw in some minced garlic on top of the garlic powder and added cumin. In the end, there's just a complexity of flavor that's missing. But, if you use the onions from the crock pot in with the meat while making burritos, it's pretty good. I just wish I could put my finger on what that other flavor component needs to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
We love this! It is on my regular rotation. I follow the recipe exactly and it is quite spicy. If you don't like the heat dial back on the red pepper and the hot sauce. Be sure to finish in the fry pan as it makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe last week-end when family came from out of town. They all LOVED it. It was flavorful and delicious. I did make the add a pkg. of mushroom gravy mix to the liquid and then put all the meat back into the slow cooker. It was all eaten up and the wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Super spicy but OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Even my picky eaters gobbled this down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Awesome Recipe! I followed the recipe with the exception of switching out canned chillies for fresh jalopenos (minced). I also traded out the 5 .oz hot sauce for 2 .oz Tabasco Sauce due to salt restrictions. Considering Tabasco is much hotter than your average hot sauces this recipe turned out wonderfully. I served it with rice, black beans and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
very good , ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was so yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States