Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Very bland with an overwhelming taste of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I was really skeptical making this because of the mixed reviews I read. Made this the before I went to bed and woke up and it was all done! Did everything on the recipe except I cut back on the peppers and used Tabasco chipotle hot sauce. It was soo good! And I also used the beef to make pizza too! This is definitely a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I've made this several times and tonight was the best (and my hubby thinks the same!) I threw everything into the crockpot instead of browning the beef first, so I did not use the oil. Then I added the beef w all the spices, except the cayenne pepper (we have little kids) and instead of the hot sauce used about 1/3 cup Pace medium salsa and water to cover 1/4 of the roast. Cooked in the crockpot for 8 hrs on low, then shredded it and trimmed the fat and bones off. Placed the shredded beef in a pan with the strained juices and about 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp paprika, a dash of red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper. Let it simmer until the meat soaked up the juices and voila! Delicious! I can't wait to eat it tomorrow!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I've made this recipe three times now, and it turns out perfect every time. My chuck roast was so tender and juicy! Everyone loved it at my party. I also made some cilantro/purple cabbage cole slaw to go on the tacos!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Recipe added a nice, spicy flavor to meat. Could really see this with any bland meat to add great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This roast turned out amazing, it was extremely tender and had a little spice to it. I cooked mine on low for about 10 hrs because I wasn't home to cook on high and then switch to low and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather1717

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great recipe! I added fresh garlic. I used beef broth versus water. I used kosher salt instead of table salt, and I added a bay leaf to the pot. I also reduced the amount of hot sauce to around 3 oz. and I only gave it a dash of cayenne. Yummy with a tolerable heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Delicious! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Used in tacos and in hoagie buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
big hit with the family! I only had a 2 lb roast, so I halved the seasoning. I also had to use a can of chili's, but it still turned out great. I used the meat for tacos, so I followed the footnote and cooked off the liquid in a skillet. will definitely make this again! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Andres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States