Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I have tried several shrimp n grits recipes that I have found on allrecipes, but this is the first one that I have tried that we all LOVED. As others have said, make sure to brown the flour well before adding anything else to it. I also add garlic and some sharp cheddar cheese to my grits as well as plenty of salt. (Sometimes it's worth the extra sodium, just not always).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Great recipe! I use wine instead of chicken stock and a pound of bacon. My family loves when I make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mac191321
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was so freaking good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe! We add some crushed red pepper flakes for a little kick, and it's absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellport, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is the shrimp and grits recipe I was searching for. It calls for roux, not a can of soup (yuck) to thicken it, and the flavors are right on. I added some smoked sausage and a stalk of celery, and Tony's instead of seasoned salt. It's also rather quick and easy to make. Will definitely put this in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was a Delicious dish!! I just finished eating :) I did tweak it a little. I added celery, red pepper to liking and 1/8 cayenne pepper, and I sauted the veggies before adding to recipe. It came out amaaazing!! I was skeptical because a couple of the reviews says it was bland, but I did not get that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was excellent. I think I may add a little fresh corn for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I omitted the bacon. I didn't use chicken stock either. I sautéed the onions and peppers and shrimp, and used the liquid from that to replace the chicken stock. I served this over cheese grits, and everyone loved it and wanted to know how to make. This was a nice delicious meal, that I'll def. be making again one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent recipe! Made it several times with both rice and grits. Did add more seasonings. My family like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Something fast and tasty to make for my family I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States