Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
100% Authentic and absolutely wonderful! I was born and raised in Charleston, and come from a family of local cooks and this is truly authentic and what the locals recognize as shrimp and grits. The gravy is deeply flavorful, and the shrimp is just done, not overcooked. You can add a tad of heavy cream towards the end if you want an even more velvety texture in the grits. This is the real deal and as a born and raised Charleston, I say excellently done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Outstanding! The gravy is out of the world. I served this to someone who'd never heard of shrimp & grits and turned up their nose......Total convert! They were braggin about the dish to anyone who'd listen. Wonderful Dish. You can add more or less water to the gravy til it's your desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe! making the roux dark brown brings out so much flavor! My husband loved it.. and did I we will have this again. Optional tweak of recipe.. layer grits in a 9x13 bake pan.. and then layer the shrimp mixture and top with another layer of grits.. sprinkle with cheese of your choice.. and wham-o you have shrimp & grits cassarole.. served like a lasagna. thanks for sharing is FAB recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! I agree with previous reviews that it does need more seasoning. I added Adobo, celery salt, and some cayenne for more flavor and it was fabulous! Also, I recommend that if you put this over grits, use a half and half mixture of water/milk when cooking the grits for a creamy texture. All in all this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Tastylicious! Great roux! Make sure you cook the roux the entire 12 minutes and stir constantly so it doesn't burn. I tasted at the end and felt like it was missing just a little something. I added a few dashes of Tony Chachere's seasoning...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is soooo yummy! I will be making this one of my staples to go to. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and the flavors were amazing! This was my first-time to make a roux and it was really easy. This was my mom's first-time to eat shrimp n grits and she loved them. So did my husband who is a shrimp n grits conneisuer - he said this should be our new recipe for when we have company over for dinner! I served this with the creamy cheesy grits recipe also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is as close to authentic that I could find on the internet. However, I would use a combination of celery, carrot, onion and garlic along with pepper. Make the roux adding 1 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsn cayenne and 1/4 tsp dry mustard.Once nice add brown add 1/2 cup white wine, two tblspns worchestshire sauce, two cups of stock and reduce by half. Then add your shrimp. Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This may be authentic, but it's still a little blase. The sauce was good, if a bit bland, and I'd definitely season the grits (if you have chosen grits for your base). I think it would be spectacular over seasoned potato wedges (it needs a little 'kick'), but then it might lose its traditional-deep-south-appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very, very good. It was my first time browning a roux and it took a long time, more like 20 minutes to get it dark brown. When I first started the roux I didn't think it looked thick enough, so I added some more flour and the end result was just about the right thickness. I used leftover Cajun spiced shrimp and a little shake of Cajun seasoning in the sauce. The finished product was great. I served it over Gouda cheese grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States