Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Outstanding! The gravy is out of the world. I served this to someone who'd never heard of shrimp & grits and turned up their nose......Total convert! They were braggin about the dish to anyone who'd listen. Wonderful Dish. You can add more or less water to the gravy til it's your desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This review is based on my husband's comments since I cannot eat seafood. He said it was good but not out of this world. Said the sauce needed to be jazzed up somehow so we added cayenne pepper, which helped. From a cooking standpoint, this came together extremely quickly and was a great way to use up some cocktail shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Tastylicious! Great roux! Make sure you cook the roux the entire 12 minutes and stir constantly so it doesn't burn. I tasted at the end and felt like it was missing just a little something. I added a few dashes of Tony Chachere's seasoning...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Great dish! Not exactly like Charleston. Their gravy is more of a cream sauce but still wonderful!! Family loved it! Best served over Charleston style grits made with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe! making the roux dark brown brings out so much flavor! My husband loved it.. and did I we will have this again. Optional tweak of recipe.. layer grits in a 9x13 bake pan.. and then layer the shrimp mixture and top with another layer of grits.. sprinkle with cheese of your choice.. and wham-o you have shrimp & grits cassarole.. served like a lasagna. thanks for sharing is FAB recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
100% Authentic and absolutely wonderful! I was born and raised in Charleston, and come from a family of local cooks and this is truly authentic and what the locals recognize as shrimp and grits. The gravy is deeply flavorful, and the shrimp is just done, not overcooked. You can add a tad of heavy cream towards the end if you want an even more velvety texture in the grits. This is the real deal and as a born and raised Charleston, I say excellently done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I'm not from Charleston, but since we have to give dinner parties for my husbands work, tried it out about a week before and the kids loved it. It was a success at the dinner party everybody loved it. We did use fresh shrimp. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Simply mouthwatering! Be sure to only use fresh raw shrimp to start. A little cayenne or spice is to taste, and the gravy is divine! Way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I agree with pretty much everything JDVMD said about this earlier - it's good but not outstanding. I also thought the gravy needed a little bit of tweaking - I added lots of freshly-ground black pepper, and also a generous slosh of homemade hot sauce. I would probably make this again if I had shrimp that needed using up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Great recipe to try something new, but not a mind blower. I have never been to Charleson so I have nothing to compare it to. I like things spicy; next time I am going to add some hotter spices to see what that does to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States