Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I really enjoyed this dish! Very easy to make! I did cheat a little and added partially thawed frozen shrimp just before serving. I will definately will make this again! I served this dish with biscuits but hubby definately was upset that I didnt make it with grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I'm not terribly familiar with what "real" shrimp and grits are supposed to taste like, but this dish was very very good. if you use precooked shrimp, it's easy enough to put them in at the very end & just let them heat through. delicious the second day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Yummy! This was simply delightful. The gravy was a little thin but I guess that could be fixed by reducing the amount of chicken broth. Either way, it was even better on the second day. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I think I made it a little too spicy but it had a great taste and was wonderfully simple. I wonder if it could be made a little healthier by using less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Great recipe to try something new, but not a mind blower. I have never been to Charleson so I have nothing to compare it to. I like things spicy; next time I am going to add some hotter spices to see what that does to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I agree with pretty much everything JDVMD said about this earlier - it's good but not outstanding. I also thought the gravy needed a little bit of tweaking - I added lots of freshly-ground black pepper, and also a generous slosh of homemade hot sauce. I would probably make this again if I had shrimp that needed using up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Simply mouthwatering! Be sure to only use fresh raw shrimp to start. A little cayenne or spice is to taste, and the gravy is divine! Way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I'm not from Charleston, but since we have to give dinner parties for my husbands work, tried it out about a week before and the kids loved it. It was a success at the dinner party everybody loved it. We did use fresh shrimp. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
100% Authentic and absolutely wonderful! I was born and raised in Charleston, and come from a family of local cooks and this is truly authentic and what the locals recognize as shrimp and grits. The gravy is deeply flavorful, and the shrimp is just done, not overcooked. You can add a tad of heavy cream towards the end if you want an even more velvety texture in the grits. This is the real deal and as a born and raised Charleston, I say excellently done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Excellent recipe! making the roux dark brown brings out so much flavor! My husband loved it.. and did I we will have this again. Optional tweak of recipe.. layer grits in a 9x13 bake pan.. and then layer the shrimp mixture and top with another layer of grits.. sprinkle with cheese of your choice.. and wham-o you have shrimp & grits cassarole.. served like a lasagna. thanks for sharing is FAB recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States