Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was wonderful, I used to live in Charleston and loved shrimp and grits, but hadn't had it since I moved away. This was restaraunt worthy. Served over the oklahoma cheese grits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
really good I put it over grits. yum! super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Fantastic Shrimp 'n' Gravy I served it with grits and add some crushed red pepper for a kick. I would use medium shrimp instead of large next time (wanted more shrimp) and add mushrooms. Otherwise wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Bland, bland, bland. I also thought that there was too much onion and bell pepper. I had to add more water to the recipe as well. I think I will try this recipe again but make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made this after trying recipes and my family loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Love it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was great! Followed the recipe exactly and the flavor is really good. I make this frequently. My boyfriend really liked this as well. I've made quiet a few recipes from here and some recipes he has made fun of me for even attempting but this isn't one of those. It's a favorite of ours. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~CateringCook~~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is my first time rating a recipe, but I can't give this one enough stars. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is, as my teenager says, "Off the chain"! That gravy is so full of flavor, it could stand on its own. I follow the recipe as stated & served over cheesy grits. The only complaint my kids had was it was too hot to eat as fast as they wanted to. (Hot off the stove) I can't wait 'til my husband gets back in town so he can try it. He's picky, but I know he'll love it. This one is definately on my list of family favorites! Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was very easy to make and tasted delicious. I would have preferred it to be a little more runny, more of a gravy consistency but I could just add more chicken stock next time. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Excellent flavor! My oldest who is a very small eater actually went back for seconds. The rice did seem to dilute the flavor of the gravy so next time I will most likely serve it over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States