Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was really good, as I had 2 lbs. of shrimp I increased the bacon to 5 slices and added 2 ribs of celery to the veggies. I also used Tony's in place of the seasoned salt as we like the heat of it. Those were the only changes I made and those were based on personal tastes. Served over cheesy grits and the entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was wonderful. I didn't have green bell pepper so I substituted red bell pepper and I didn't have uncooked bacon so I used the precooked kind and a little canola oil in the pan to pick up the bacon flavor. Served it over cheese grits. The whole family loved it and we used a rubber scraper to get the last bit out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Wonderful! Served over grits and everyone one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtbiketx
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am not from the southeast so I do not know if this is authentic of not. What I can tell you is that it was delicious. It is worth the time to cook the bacon, make the roux and make the gravy. I served it over some spicy and cheesy grits and will definitely being making this recipe to share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This would be awesome with some tasso ham added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very tasty. At the end, I thought it needed some spice and added some hot sauce and cayenne pepper. Will definitely make again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was good. All of my kids liked it from the 10 year old to the three year olds. I omitted the green onions. Used already cooked shrimp and old bay seasoning and garlic powder. I have never tasted anything like it and we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and served it over grits. It made more gravy than I thought it would and my husband wished that I had made more grits! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Very good,warm, filling & not difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very Authentic and Delicious! Used about 1 cup of chicken stock to make the gravy thicker - also added red and yellow pepper in lieu of green. Serve with some hot sauce on the side and extra green onion. Thanks for the recipe, a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States