Charleston Shrimp 'n' Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
made it for my family (we are all from Savannah, GA) and we all LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I live in Charleston and have had many shrimp and grits dishes. My husband declared this "restaurant-quality!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Our family of 4 (including our 4 and 7 year old) loved this! I used red, yellow, and orange peppers and minced garlic. My kids actually wanted seconds. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
One word - phenomenal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is as close to authentic that I could find on the internet. However, I would use a combination of celery, carrot, onion and garlic along with pepper. Make the roux adding 1 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsn cayenne and 1/4 tsp dry mustard.Once nice add brown add 1/2 cup white wine, two tblspns worchestshire sauce, two cups of stock and reduce by half. Then add your shrimp. Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I thought it was good, not excellent. Like some of the other reviewers, I felt it was a little on the bland side, and needed some kind of spice to fill in the blank. Maybe next time I'll add some cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was very yummie ! the gravy and the shrimp is a good pair together. Must say very good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Yum! I have no idea if this was authentic, but it certainly was TASTY! Even my picky teenage son said is was great. Followed the directions closely, except had to substitute red bell pepper for green as that was that all I had on hand. When making the roux (my first time to make a roux) be patient and cook it medium-low as directed, I turned it up and almost scorched it. Served it with grits and it was excellent. Definately making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Eimann Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was really good, as I had 2 lbs. of shrimp I increased the bacon to 5 slices and added 2 ribs of celery to the veggies. I also used Tony's in place of the seasoned salt as we like the heat of it. Those were the only changes I made and those were based on personal tastes. Served over cheesy grits and the entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was wonderful. I didn't have green bell pepper so I substituted red bell pepper and I didn't have uncooked bacon so I used the precooked kind and a little canola oil in the pan to pick up the bacon flavor. Served it over cheese grits. The whole family loved it and we used a rubber scraper to get the last bit out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States