Charleston Red Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Loved it with a few changes. Used four cups of uncooked instant rice. Added chopped celery and yellow bell pepper to sautéed onions in bacon grease. Instead of tomato paste and sauce, I added 28 oz of crushed tomato. Used 8 pieces of bacon instead of six, several shakes of hot sauce. Added left over bacon grease to casserole with bacon. Used 4 teaspoons instead of 2 of Worcestershire , 3 tablespoons of white sugar instead of 2. Turned to 375 and baked 30 mi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark Podmore
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I add celery and cook it along with the onion because it is what my mother, a Charlestonian, always added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Podmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe is delicious. Reminds me so much of my mom's recipe. The only changes I made was subbing sausage for bacon (personal preference), I doubled the tomato sauce & I added some salt and pepper. I've made this 3 times now and there's never been any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
good flavor, follow your own rice Recipe,this one to Soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I could not find my mama's recipe, so I used this one as a base. I remembered certain things from her recipe but couldn't remember all, like times, amounts, temps, etc. This recipe did help, but for adding that extra zap, try adding sausage and instead of tomato paste and sauce use ZigZag bloody mary mix. (Those are the only two ingrediants I could remember of my wonderful mom's recipe, passed down from her mother.) It just does something extra to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This recipe is authentic, easy and delicious. Red rice can be dry but this is moist every time and the variations are endless. I've added refrigerator odds and ends from chopped bell pepper to leftover oven fried cod pieces. It's forgiving and my husband loves it and wants it once a week. A keeper! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fritzi Schnitzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Where I'm from (which is bout and hour south of Charleston), we have this dish for every family function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I love this rice recipe i cant wait to try it thats the only thing i cant make is red rice i will let you know how it comes out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasheika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was an easy 5 stars with a few adjustments. I added a can of diced tomatoes to go with all that tomato flavor. It seemed like it was really missing something as far as herbs or spices so I also added Cajun seasoning. Since I scaled it down, instead of fractioning a dash of hot sauce, I used red pepper flakes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I love this recipe, not sure why there are not more reviews, this is a great rice dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States