Charleston Red Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mark Podmore
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I add celery and cook it along with the onion because it is what my mother, a Charlestonian, always added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Podmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe is delicious. Reminds me so much of my mom's recipe. The only changes I made was subbing sausage for bacon (personal preference), I doubled the tomato sauce & I added some salt and pepper. I've made this 3 times now and there's never been any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
good flavor, follow your own rice Recipe,this one to Soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I could not find my mama's recipe, so I used this one as a base. I remembered certain things from her recipe but couldn't remember all, like times, amounts, temps, etc. This recipe did help, but for adding that extra zap, try adding sausage and instead of tomato paste and sauce use ZigZag bloody mary mix. (Those are the only two ingrediants I could remember of my wonderful mom's recipe, passed down from her mother.) It just does something extra to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This recipe is authentic, easy and delicious. Red rice can be dry but this is moist every time and the variations are endless. I've added refrigerator odds and ends from chopped bell pepper to leftover oven fried cod pieces. It's forgiving and my husband loves it and wants it once a week. A keeper! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fritzi Schnitzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Where I'm from (which is bout and hour south of Charleston), we have this dish for every family function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I love this rice recipe i cant wait to try it thats the only thing i cant make is red rice i will let you know how it comes out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasheika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was an easy 5 stars with a few adjustments. I added a can of diced tomatoes to go with all that tomato flavor. It seemed like it was really missing something as far as herbs or spices so I also added Cajun seasoning. Since I scaled it down, instead of fractioning a dash of hot sauce, I used red pepper flakes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I love this recipe, not sure why there are not more reviews, this is a great rice dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Its a good recipe but I like dishes with a bit more kick. I made it a second time with a dash of ground red pepper and a handful of shakes of extra hot hot sauce over the pan. Kicks it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States