Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except used turkey bacon. I put it together on Christmas Eve to serve Christmas morning, when everything is so hectic. We all LOVED it so much, I made it again for New Year's morning! Wonderful, especially with garlic-cheese flavored croutons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My family loved this for Christmas morning breakfast. I assembled it on Christmas Eve and let it steep in the fridge till morning. I had plenty of people on diets, so I altered it thus: I made herb bread, cut it into cubes and put the cubes on a dry cookie sheet and baked them at 250 for about 45 min till they were dry and hard. These were my fat free croutons. I omitted the butter, used 2%milk cheddar cheese (lower fat, all the flavor), 1 large egg + 1-1/2 cups Egg Beaters, skim milk, 1 cup low fat real bacon bits. I added 2 TB minced onion. I assembled the dish thus: I layed the croutons on the bottom of the baking dish, covered them with the cheese, then poured the combined rest of the ingredients over the crouton/cheese foundation. I baked the dish covered with foil for 1 hr and a half, then uncovered for 30 more minutes. I've had requests to serve this on the weekends. New staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
It was a hit at our brunch! I made it the day before and refrigerated overnight. My adjustments: I used garlic & cheese croutons, yellow and red bell peppers, and added 2 more eggs and 1/4 cup milk like other reviewers recommended. Also, didn't crisp the bacon since it gets 40 minutes in the oven. Everything else stayed the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashroon
Home Town: Yorktown, New York, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made this for a Holiday Brunch and everyone loved it. Only changes I made were using 2 bags of bacon bits for top and used 8 eggs...since I made it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very tasty.. used garlic & cheese croutons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This recipe is so wonderful! I let it sit overnight. Added one extra egg the night before and two extra eggs in the morning. I also added the bacon in the morning so it wouldnt get soggy. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The only thing I'm adding to this is 1/2 cup of finely chopped onion. I'm using ground mustard instead of prepared, cubed day-old french bread instead of croutons and evaporated milk instead of whole, though, probably because I'm from New Orleans. Oh, and yard eggs instead of store bought, because we have chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
You bet it is a crowd pleasing recipe!! I made this last night using the garlic cheese croutons & taking the suggestion of other reviewers, let it refrigerate overnight. I used ham, small diced red & green diced peppers & onions. The people loved the flavor, and I believe it came from the croutons. The eggs were increased to 9. I cooked the bacon until crispy and crumbled it on the top after the dish was pulled out of the oven. I was ready with copies of the recipe for those who asked. Thanks Scott!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
i loved it i put onion in it also. the onion was marinated over night in barbeque sauces. i also put some chicken in it. we got the chicken from walmart already baked and it was awesome! i made it again without the onion and chicken. wasnt the same. make sure that you get the fat off of the bacon if there is any. we also topped it with green onion and salsa or taco sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parker Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
The bacon casserole had LOTS of flavor. The sausage casserole was good as well but lesser punch of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States