Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. Having read many of the reviews prior to making, I made some minor alterations. I added 10 eggs instead of 6 and used an even 2 cups of milk instead of 1 and 3/4. I used a red pepper and for additional flavor, I added a couple large shallots minced (figured onions would overpower it). I used a combination of garlic & cheese croutons and Italian seasoned croutons. I like the idea of sautéing mushrooms but was shooting for easy so didn't go that route (didn't sauté the shallots either). Definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious!!! I had biscuits left over from another meal. I cut them into cubes. I think it made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was a great recipe! I made it for 6 adults who eat a hearty breakfast so I used 12 eggs, added chives, dill weed and 1lb of maple sausage...I used only 1 cup milk and either Italian seasoned or cheesy garlic croutons (I've mad it twice now it was such a hit) and then I baked it for 50minutes. One of the times that I made it I used ground chili pepper and spiced it up some but it's good without. A great recipe to make into your own and tastes awesome!! Oh yah.... I also used about 4 cups of cheese and everyone commented how yummy and cheesy it was...with more egg you want more of your other ingredients! This is a win for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hayden
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I didn't use bacon. I used Honey Ham, I also made my own croutons. It's really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was good. Everyone liked it! I think I would leave out the mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I used some of the comments and riffed off this as follows and crowd loved it: used egg beaters, replaced milk with 2 blocks of low-fat cream, sautéed two medium white onions with the bacon and added them, added some spicy sausage (chorizo) and a healthy amount of sriracha. Gooey, cheeses, a hit of heat - nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I didn't like this. The croutons get really mushy and stay that way even when baked. I HATE mushy things. The whole thing was quite runny even tho I baked it 15 min longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AACLAYTON
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
A little bland-I realize I should have used flavored croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Awesome! Made this today for Thanksgiving breakfast. For my preference and less dishes I switched out the bacon for diced ham. I also added a medium onion, diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States