Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! This is soooo tasty! I did read the recommended tweaks and adjusted mine accordingly. Here are the changes I made: 2 small bags of real bacon pieces (instead of sliced bacon) 4 cups of croutons (instead of 3 cups) 1 bag of shredded cheese (instead of 2 cups) Thin layer of garlic powder Thin layer of minced onions (green onions would be good too!) 2 cups milk (instead of 1 3/4 cups) 8 eggs (instead of 6 eggs) I prepared it the night before and cooked it as directed (325 for 40 minutes) and let is rest for an additional 10 minutes. I have never received so many compliments to a recipe! REALLY, REALLY good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jjlance04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I thought this was pretty good. I liked the croutons, but there was something missing. I think next time I will add some breakfast sausage to the mix. Needs a little more crunch so might add a little something extra next time. But the flavors were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have made this several times with many different variations. It is a great recipe that can be modified per your tastes and it still comes out great. A couple of important things. - Definitely use seasoned Croutons or a good Deli gourmet bread. - Definitely prepare the night before and then bake in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBeeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for Christmas morning. I let it sit in refrigerator overnight and popped it in the oven in the morning. My 4 boys ,husband and mother in law all loved it! They asked for it to be our Christmas tradition. The only change I made was to use nitrate-free turkey bacon from Fresh Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was so tasty and easy to make.. As others have said reheats beautlfully..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani Lynn Gannon
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Followed recipe exactly, put together on Christmas Eve then refrigerated. On Christmas morning I put in the oven while the kids were opening their presents. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani Lynn Gannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I tried this recipe Christmas morning for something easy to pop into the oven while opening gifts. Imade it the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I used Jimmy Dean maple sausage in place of bacon and made my own croutons from french bread and it came out fabulous!!!! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I NEVER get breakfast casseroles right but this was was a BIG hit for Christmas morning!! I did make it the night before as stated in other reviews and I added onions. I bought the precooked bacon and it turned out great. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made the 8x8" version of this and it was perfect. 6 slices bacon, 2 Tbs of butter, enough croutons to cover bottom of dish, 1 cup cheese, 4 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1/2 bell pepper, 1/2 tbs of mustard. It cooked for exactly 40 mins. You won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I have made this twice during the Christmas Holidays, great filling meal for a hungary family !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States