Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I prepared two of these casseroles and used flavored croutons. I prepared one and immediately baked it and the other I let sit over night. The one that sat over night was superior by far! It had a ton more flavor. I also chose to add a little more milk and a few extra eggs to the one I let sit overnight. Also added extra cheese. You can never have enought cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
743 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Ok, here goes. I love, love, love this, however, my family is trying to eat healthier so I made some changes. First I omitted the butter entirely and used 1 egg plus 1 1/2 cups Egg Beaters. I used half regular cheese and half fat free cheese, fat free croutons and 1/2 C lower sodium, real bacon bits. I prepared it the night before and cooked for about an hour in a 9x13 pan and did not adjust the milk at all. It turned out wonderful (not soggy) and this altered version is so much healthier. I got 8 servings and froze some so I coukd just pull them out of the freezer and reheat in the microwave for a midweek breakfast. They reheated wonderfully in the microwave. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
638 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I am testing out brunch recipes for the party I am having New Year's Eve and husband and I both agreed that this was very good. I chose this one over the other bacon/sausage casseroles because of the ingredients that I felt would give it more flavor......i.e. the flavored croutons and mustard. What a great touch! I used caesar salad croutons since thats what I had. I halved the recipe, however, since it was just hubby and I and made it in an 8x8 pan. Perfect for half the ingredients, which leads me to agree with another reviewer.....if making the full recipe in a 9x13, you should do 1.5 times the recipe, otherwise it will be a bit flat. At first I thought the bacon was too much, even at 6 slices for halved recipe, but it was perfect! I used red pepper since hubby doesn't like green.......has a very nice presentation and slices up well. Oh I still had to cook the full 40 min. even though I halved the recipe. Very tasty! Thanks for sharing. Unless I find a better one, this will make an appearance at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This breakfast casserole was fantastic, but I did make just a few changes, based on other reviewers. I replaced the "soggy" croutons with potatoes (I used half a bag of frozen cubed hash browns - nuked for about 1 minute), and since I'm not a big fan of bacon, I used fresh Italian breakfast sausage (out of the casings), which I cooked in a skillet, drained, and crumbled. I used 8 eggs and 2 cups of milk, I only used about 1/3 of a green pepper, and I added a teaspoon of onion powder and 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. This casserole was SO delicious! I will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Need to add two more eggs and 1/4 cup more milk if soaking casserole overnight. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Very good- you never know with custard (eggbased) recipes like this how they will turn out- I always worry about them being too gloopy but this was perfect. I did up the eggs and milk a bit and used garlic/cheese croutons as one other reviewer suggested- GREAT IDEA- FYI, I bought way too many croutons because I didn't know if one bag had 3 cups in it- now I know- a 16 oz bag of croutons is just the right amount. I also added chives. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is very delicious and impressive to serve to guest. I made the smaller 8X8 version. I used 4 eggs and, condensed milk, a dash of cinnamon (sounds weird but it adds something), garlic cheese croutons, and cheese crumbles by Kraft. As another reviewer mentioned, 8X8 still needs 40min cooking time. I served w/ salsa (optional), Toast Corners (from this site) and CranApple Juice w/ fresh raspberries. This is something anyone can do and your guest(s) will rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was an excellent casserole. I used 8 eggs to make it a little thicker and added mushrooms, roma tomatoes, and onion to give it that much more flavor. Surprisingly it reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe! It has a wonderful taste. I did make alot more bacon than it called for just for more (meat) and I like lots of different cheese together so I mix swiss and parmasean as well as the cheddar. On the croutons get the ones that say "seasoned". Oh, before I forget, it shows prep and cook time, cook time shows 50 min and in the directions below it show bake 40 min., bake 50min or until egg in center done. 40 min not long enough. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Barrett-Casselberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
First, thanks to Scott for posting this fantastic recipe! I was looking for something a bit different that the traditional breakfast casseroles, (which to me are pretty much all the same) for a breakfast at work. I made this recipe EXACTLY as written, (except I used 8 eggs) using Marie Calenders cheese and garlic croutons, 1/2 red and 1/2 green chopped peppers for Christmas, and a really good cut of bacon, and Mexican blend cheese, and put it in the fridge overnight. Baked in the morning before work. Easy to layer, croutons on the bottom, then melted butter, cheese, egg/pepper mixture and top with bacon. The croutons you choose will be crucial to the outcome, so pick something with tons of flavor. Might seem wierd, but it is crucial. One little trick that may help...cook your bacon until done but not crispy, still soft. I tore the bacon instead of crumbled, in large chunks, and on top of the dish it looked like big pieces of meat. (During the cooking, the bacon doesn't become overcooked this way). When it came out of the oven, it was so beautiful I wanted to take a picture of it! And, of all the dishes at the breakfast, mine was the one EVERYONE was talking about! Many requests for the recipe, they wanted to know what was the "secret ingredient" that tasted so GREAT (croutons) and several that said they will not make a traditional breakfast casserole again! Hehehehe! This recipe made me a superstar at work! LOVE IT! :) And...cheesy easy as well. You can't go wr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States