Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
No Joke - You can play with this recipe !! I didn't have croutons nor hash browns...tho..I had three small white rose potatoes - diced and seasoned them up with with seasoning salt and black pepper...then sauteed with some finely chopped onions and a couple minced garlic cloves in the butter - let cool...then put in bottom of baking dish (no need to grease or spray dish itself)...then egg mixture...then bacon - added cheese on top for only a few minutes at the very end of cooking time - outcome not greasy whatsoever - just simply delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Really good. I didn't have a green pepper but I did have some little green onions so I used that instead. We liked it a lot and I think we'll stick with using the onions in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is very similar to one that I've been making for years. I bet it would be very good for breakfast or brunch but I wouldn't know. I always make it 1st thing in the morning, refrigerate it & then bake it in time for dinner. It makes an easy dinner after a busy day! For side dishes try sliced tomatoes, fried taters, grits or even a tossed salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
added 2 extra eggs and was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Made this for our Christmas Eve Day brunch. Excellent choice! Used 8 eggs and added finely chopped portabellas and seasoned croutons. Put in the fridge overnight. Had great flavor. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
A crowd pleaser.My family requested I make one of these,freeze it and take it on vacation to the beach. I leave out the bell pepper for my family, but otherwise it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is the second time that I have made this casserole. Both times RAVED reviews. I usually make two pans. One with turkey bacon and the other with pork sausage. I follow the recipe, only adjusting because I double it in each pan. It comes out good everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is an easy dish to make on a Saturday morning and very flavourful! I made it with black forest ham instead of bacon and gave it a dash of parmesan on top. Only used half a pepper (orange) and it turned out awesome! Also used 8 eggs and 2 cups of milk -- served four substantial servings -- not 8. Will have to try for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We love this dish, and have it quite frequently as part of our Sunday breakfast. I do make a few changes to better suit our family. I do not use the bell pepper, as several people do not care for them. I also don't put the butter over the croutons. This can also be done as an overnight casserole, as I sometimes do it. Fully assembled, I cover the dish and put it in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I put the dish on the counter while the oven preheats, then bake as instructed. This is a great timesaver in the morning. I have also done this dish with sausage instead of bacon, and it is equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this for a church function and it was very well received. I was doubling the recipe so I used five bags of croutons, based on the package contents. I drizzled the butter over the croutons as directed, and then I put sauteed onions and red peppers, and the cheese over the croutons before adding the egg/milk mixture. We started out with 12 eggs and I ended up adding six more eggs and more milk to get a better liquid to crouton ratio. It received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States