Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is very similar to one that I've been making for years. I bet it would be very good for breakfast or brunch but I wouldn't know. I always make it 1st thing in the morning, refrigerate it & then bake it in time for dinner. It makes an easy dinner after a busy day! For side dishes try sliced tomatoes, fried taters, grits or even a tossed salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
added 2 extra eggs and was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Made this for our Christmas Eve Day brunch. Excellent choice! Used 8 eggs and added finely chopped portabellas and seasoned croutons. Put in the fridge overnight. Had great flavor. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
A crowd pleaser.My family requested I make one of these,freeze it and take it on vacation to the beach. I leave out the bell pepper for my family, but otherwise it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is the second time that I have made this casserole. Both times RAVED reviews. I usually make two pans. One with turkey bacon and the other with pork sausage. I follow the recipe, only adjusting because I double it in each pan. It comes out good everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is an easy dish to make on a Saturday morning and very flavourful! I made it with black forest ham instead of bacon and gave it a dash of parmesan on top. Only used half a pepper (orange) and it turned out awesome! Also used 8 eggs and 2 cups of milk -- served four substantial servings -- not 8. Will have to try for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We love this dish, and have it quite frequently as part of our Sunday breakfast. I do make a few changes to better suit our family. I do not use the bell pepper, as several people do not care for them. I also don't put the butter over the croutons. This can also be done as an overnight casserole, as I sometimes do it. Fully assembled, I cover the dish and put it in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I put the dish on the counter while the oven preheats, then bake as instructed. This is a great timesaver in the morning. I have also done this dish with sausage instead of bacon, and it is equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this for a church function and it was very well received. I was doubling the recipe so I used five bags of croutons, based on the package contents. I drizzled the butter over the croutons as directed, and then I put sauteed onions and red peppers, and the cheese over the croutons before adding the egg/milk mixture. We started out with 12 eggs and I ended up adding six more eggs and more milk to get a better liquid to crouton ratio. It received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made this for breakfast for some friends just before we went on a trip. I used the hashbrowns with the onions & peppers instead of croutons and also added chopped tomatoes and spinach. Used 14 eggs as another reviewer recommended and a 9x13 pan. Had to bake it about 15 min. longer (maybe it was my oven) but it came out perfect. Our friends raved & said it was the best breakfast casserole they'd ever had. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
good, needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States