Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I just pulled this out of the oven and it was awesome! I had to make my own croutons, with evoo,Italian spices and garlic salt. Then I threw in a healthy tablespoon of crushed red peppers. Because I used an oval glass pan, the cooking time was increased to 1hr 45 min. Awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Okay. Val liked. I guess it was the croutons I wasn't too excited about. Like mine fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is a great recipe. We use 12 eggs to make it a little more hearty, add feta cheese sprinkled in, and don't use any butter. Works great! My husband loves it! Bake for 1 hour if you use 12 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was pretty tasty. I subbed onions for the green pepper but otherwise I kept it the same. I think I would prefer using chunks of french bread in place of the croutons next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Cooked it a bit longer than recipe called for. I wanted to be sure it was done in the middle. Everyone loved it! note: only needed to buy one bag of croutons for this recipe and still had some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was a great recipe to get the basics from for a breakfast casserole! It turned out delicious and I made some changes. My family prefers sausage over bacon so I ommitted the bacon and used two lbs. of maple sausage. I also added in one cup of green onions. Once I put the sausage in the dish, I whisked 3 more eggs and added them to the top of the sausage, pouring evenly. Then I topped with cheese, as directed. I made it the night before and let it sit in the refrigerator over night. It turned out amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Always gets compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except used turkey bacon. I put it together on Christmas Eve to serve Christmas morning, when everything is so hectic. We all LOVED it so much, I made it again for New Year's morning! Wonderful, especially with garlic-cheese flavored croutons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My family loved this for Christmas morning breakfast. I assembled it on Christmas Eve and let it steep in the fridge till morning. I had plenty of people on diets, so I altered it thus: I made herb bread, cut it into cubes and put the cubes on a dry cookie sheet and baked them at 250 for about 45 min till they were dry and hard. These were my fat free croutons. I omitted the butter, used 2%milk cheddar cheese (lower fat, all the flavor), 1 large egg + 1-1/2 cups Egg Beaters, skim milk, 1 cup low fat real bacon bits. I added 2 TB minced onion. I assembled the dish thus: I layed the croutons on the bottom of the baking dish, covered them with the cheese, then poured the combined rest of the ingredients over the crouton/cheese foundation. I baked the dish covered with foil for 1 hr and a half, then uncovered for 30 more minutes. I've had requests to serve this on the weekends. New staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
It was a hit at our brunch! I made it the day before and refrigerated overnight. My adjustments: I used garlic & cheese croutons, yellow and red bell peppers, and added 2 more eggs and 1/4 cup milk like other reviewers recommended. Also, didn't crisp the bacon since it gets 40 minutes in the oven. Everything else stayed the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashroon
Home Town: Yorktown, New York, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States