Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is my first rating of a recipe on this site. I cooked the bacon in the microwave instead of a skillet and used a mixture of shredded cheese that I had available. Although I'm not a fantastic cook, my out-of-town houseguests thought this dish was amazing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this last Saturday and we liked it so much I've made it 3 times since then. Excellent!! I halved the recipe but used 4 eggs in am 8x8 pan with the same cooking time. Tried it with toast when I ran out of croutons, the croutons were definitely better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It was great....if I were more of a breakfast person it would probably get 5 stars!. I let the croutons soak up the milk and eggs overnight as suggested by some others. I also used sausage instead of bacon. It actually got even better the longer it sat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is FABULOUS!!! This is the perfect recipe to add to or take away from depending on what you have in your kitchen. I added onion, and mixed in a few handfuls of potatoes, chopped ham and fresh mushrooms. It was delish!! I made it last night and all I had to do was pop it into the oven this morning. Perfect. The egg mixture was creamy and the croutons weren't soggy. I will make this again and again!! Thanks so much for a great, tasty and different breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used garlic croutons and left out the green pepper because of the kids. Even my 5 year old, who eats anything was picking at this casserole. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this casserole is so good! The croutons give it a really excellant flavor! will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very yummy. I made it with half bacon and half sausage after reading the reviews. My family loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
As others have stated, this is a really good base recipe that can be tweeked for use with other meats, veggies and cheeses. We love breakfast but seldom make it at home. Too much hassle trying to get everyone eating together with everything hot at the same time. This recipe resolves that issue. I used 6 slices bacon and 1/2 of a 1 lb tube of Jimmy Dean ground sausage. Cooked the bacon till browned but not crisp, cut into 1 in pieces. Browned sausage, then added 1/2 cup onion, sauteed till translucent. Stirred in the bacon and removed from heat. Used 9x13 pan, sprayed with Pam. Used garlic and onion croutons, topped with 2 cups cheddar jack cheese. Used 7 eggs (due to the larger pan size). Skipped the bell pepper. Used dijon mustard. Seasoned with salt, seasoned pepper and garlic powder. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is my husband said that it reminded him of McDonald's breakfast burrito. He still had seconds..but the remark stuck with me. Next time I will try this with bagels instead of croutons. Or maybe potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this for dinner using up some left over ham instead of the bacon and about a half bag of baby spinach instead of the peppers. A bag of Stove Top Stuffing worked in lieu of the croutons. Overnight the whole thing set up and it was even better for breakfast than it had been for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snowmass Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is Paul and I reviewed this recipe back on the 3rd I believe, after looking more closely at the recipe, I was wrong (hey I admit it) eggs yummy was made with mixing 1/2 cup of milk and a can of cream of mushroom soup spread on top and then add the cheese. At that point you can actually put it in the frig and cook it later. It is also even better as leftovers. Paul P. S. Sorry Charleston
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States