Chard Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Substituted vegetable broth to make it vegetarian friendly. I was surprised how much I liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious. I added some leftover chicken to make the recipe more satisfying to my meat eating husband and teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very good base recipe! I used collard greens and spinach instead of the chard. I would have used veggie broth instead of the chicken to make it truly vegetarian but I was out so I used water instead. I also put some fresh homemade salsa, avocados, cilantro, black beans, and squeezed fresh lime juice on ours. With all of those extras it felt heavy enough for a main dish. Next time I'll add some corn to it and skip the queso fresco (expensive although good) and just use whatever cheese I have on hand. I also served it with spanish rice II from this site. Excellent! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Everyone liked these and it gave a great use of chard. I will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe! I tweaked it by adding fresh corn off the cob at the same time as the chard. I also added some cumin, chili powder, and pepper for some extra flavor. With a homemade salsa of tomatoes, red bell pepper, avocado, LOTS of cilantro, and lime, it was perfect. I didn't even need the cheese! Add a dash of Cafe Rio's tomatillo cilantro creamy dressing if you have one in the area!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were great. Will surely make again, probably tonight. Like the queso fresco because it adds a little saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Way better then I would have ever thought. I am trying to find some kid friendly vegetarian meals. One of three of my kids would try this and she had seconds! I had to make a second batch we ate so many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
First, may I recommend that you drain the chard after you cook it. I didn't and it made for very soggy tacos. Other than that, I like this recipe. The only thing that I think I would do differently is to maybe add a splash of lemon or lime to the taco for a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My husband nearly choked when I told him we were having meatless tacos for dinner. But after dinner, he couldn't stop saying how fantastic these were and that these were definitely a "do again". I don't often make things more than once, so it's a privilege for a recipe to be added to the "do again" file. Note that a pinch of salt really is just a small pinch of salt. I added a large pinch and it was borderline excessive. I guess it depends on how much salt is in your chicken broth, too. Also , next time, I'll use less red pepper and instead of mincing the garlic, I'll smash the gloves and pluck them out before I build the tacos. Also of note, I was only able to get 5 tacos out of this recipe which was fine for me and my husband. If I were serving 4, I'd double the recipe. Thanks for a great meatless taco recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was VERY yummy! To make this a vegan meal, I substituted the chicken broth with vegetable broth and the queso fresca with tofu and it was fabulous! I warmed whole wheat tortillas in a little coconut oil and topped with homemade salsa fresca and these tasted like fish tacos! Excellent, fresh and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmySioux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States