Chard Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
So good, what a great way to get away from meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I don't even like chard, but these were fantastic! Used extra sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
These were pretty tasty and a great use for a garden full of swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This is a tremendous dish, but it was my first attempt at chard, so there were some lessons learned. We used jarred minced garlic and hard tacos instead of soft, which cut down on the time immensely -- took us probably about 40 minutes total. Canned or frozen yellow corn would be a great add! Recommendations: 1. Double or triple the chard. We got four bunches of chard from our CSA and put in the largest and the smallest -- it amounted to about one heaping dinner plate of leaves -- but the result was more "onion tacos" than "chard tacos." The contents filled six very skimpy tacos. Next time, I will plan on filling a medium-to-large mixing bowl with chard. 2. I would NOT recommend subbing in a more flavorful cheese (like feta) as another reviewer did. The queso fresco serves to balance the spice in this dish. If you want to use normal taco cheese, cut the pepper. 3. Even with all that additional chard, I may cut the pepper just a tad next time. It was quite spicy (and delicious!). My mouth was still tingling after a glass of milk, a salad, and a yogurt-based dessert. 4. I cut the spines out of my chard leaves. I don't know if this was necessary, but I figured it was better to be safe than sorry in this case. Would love to hear from other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Surprisingly it was very good. Even my husband liked it. Will try it next time with veggie stock to make it 100% vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was yummy...but I added a little chicken.(shhh) I cooked the chicken with cumin and cayenne pepper. My kids didnt only want Chard so I had to mix it up a little. I heated the tortillas in the skillet and added some fresh tomatoes and cilantro. We left out the onions but it was still yummy. The chard is very spicy. We had lettuce, queso fresco, and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Swiss Chard Tacos win! I didn't know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. I agree with other reviewers to drain the chard after cooking to avoid the soggy taco bottom. I also added a few dashes of cajun seasoning to flavor it up a bit. Served with homemade salsa fresca this was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
i cannot overstate how much i LOVED this. i doubled the chard and the chicken broth, and added a cup of leftover pre-cooked rice during the last cooking cycle to add some bulk. used mozzarella cheese (something mild is key) and put on wheat/black bean tortillas with salsa. loved loved LOVED. the filling is fantastic and i will probably eat it by itself tonight with a side of grilled chicken or something. unfortunately, neither of my non-picky eater toddlers would touch the chard (i made theirs into a quesadilla) and my husband said it needed crunch. maybe some raw chopped onions and tomatoes? or put into crunch taco shells? so... 4 stars for the peanut gallery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
A great twist on the taco...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Love this recipe! It's easy to make, tasty and surprisingly filling. Our family prefers hard taco shells to corn tortillas, but it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States