Chard Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was yummy...but I added a little chicken.(shhh) I cooked the chicken with cumin and cayenne pepper. My kids didnt only want Chard so I had to mix it up a little. I heated the tortillas in the skillet and added some fresh tomatoes and cilantro. We left out the onions but it was still yummy. The chard is very spicy. We had lettuce, queso fresco, and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Swiss Chard Tacos win! I didn't know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. I agree with other reviewers to drain the chard after cooking to avoid the soggy taco bottom. I also added a few dashes of cajun seasoning to flavor it up a bit. Served with homemade salsa fresca this was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
i cannot overstate how much i LOVED this. i doubled the chard and the chicken broth, and added a cup of leftover pre-cooked rice during the last cooking cycle to add some bulk. used mozzarella cheese (something mild is key) and put on wheat/black bean tortillas with salsa. loved loved LOVED. the filling is fantastic and i will probably eat it by itself tonight with a side of grilled chicken or something. unfortunately, neither of my non-picky eater toddlers would touch the chard (i made theirs into a quesadilla) and my husband said it needed crunch. maybe some raw chopped onions and tomatoes? or put into crunch taco shells? so... 4 stars for the peanut gallery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
A great twist on the taco...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Love this recipe! It's easy to make, tasty and surprisingly filling. Our family prefers hard taco shells to corn tortillas, but it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was really good and not something I would think up myself. I had some red chard I needed to use up and it turned out delicious. I did not add broth, just a little extra olive oil. I used red onions and feta, plus added a little cumin and chili powder like one reviewer suggested. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Substituted vegetable broth to make it vegetarian friendly. I was surprised how much I liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious. I added some leftover chicken to make the recipe more satisfying to my meat eating husband and teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very good base recipe! I used collard greens and spinach instead of the chard. I would have used veggie broth instead of the chicken to make it truly vegetarian but I was out so I used water instead. I also put some fresh homemade salsa, avocados, cilantro, black beans, and squeezed fresh lime juice on ours. With all of those extras it felt heavy enough for a main dish. Next time I'll add some corn to it and skip the queso fresco (expensive although good) and just use whatever cheese I have on hand. I also served it with spanish rice II from this site. Excellent! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Everyone liked these and it gave a great use of chard. I will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States