Chard Lentil Soup Lebanese Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Wow! So good. Do not add cumin. Decrease the lemon to 3/4 cup. Has a great lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe was SO GOOD. I tried it because I happened to have chard on hand and because my family likes the lemon-garlic sauce that goes on Shwarma - the ingredients in this reminded me of that. I am SO glad that used the full cup of lemon. I thought it was going to be too much, but it was perfect. Strong lemon-y flavor, but not overpowering. I also had only orange lentils and two potatoes so I used what I had. I did add some cumin because I wanted a little more flavor, but I don't really know that it added anything. It was just yummy. Like another review said, this recipe is worth the risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Absolutely obsession-inducing! Don't be fooled by the simple ingredients... until you add the lemon, garlic and olive oil the soup smells like compost but then, oh wonder, it becomes the most amazing thing ever! I ate the entire recipe in two days, no joke. I crave it now. Off to buy more chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Not our families favorite, probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I didn't make any changes to this recipe. It was delicious! I could eat it every day. My husband liked it too- full of flavor- and normally he won't eat lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarine Koftikian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I didn't have everything necessary, but wanted to use my orange chard before I lost it. I cut the recipe in half, added two heaping cups of chard, used 1/2 cup of elbows in place of potatoes, juice of one lemon and about 1 tsp of garlic. It came out wonderful! Would try it again according to recipe. Love the lemon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This soup was really great! I was surprised by how much flavor it had based on the ingredients, but it really delivered. The lemon juice really pulled it together. Will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Very delicious, easy to make & super healthy. I put a little less lemon juice and lemon zest instead. Reminds me a bit of greek avolomeno soup. Glad to have a new chard recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
A really hearty and flavorful soup. I added some vegetable bouillon, cumin, and smoked paprika, but really the lemon flavor is so dominant that I couldn't really taste those extra spices. But I love lemon flavor, so for me using the full cup of lemon juice worked. I may use less potato next time or dice them smaller, but this is a nice and easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States