Char Siu (Chinese BBQ Pork) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This marinade tastes really good! those of you that used gin or sherry, the only thing I have to say is yuck! Next time get all the ingredients correctly if you really want to have good tasting meat. Something's you just don't substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Didn't taste like char siu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I added ginger and sesame oil. Also used a cheap boneles pork roast that I cut into 2" strips. Came out marvilous and enough to eat on for several days for $5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I'm a new cook learning from my mom. This is my 2nd time making this recipe and it's great. I used rice wine vinegar and baked it in the oven at 350 for 45 mins over a baking dish filled with water, brush them 1/2 way thru process with marinade. At the end put them in the boiler for about 2-4 mins to crisp the skin, used tenderloin and served with white rice. Very good and close to Sam Woo BBQ a local and classic Chinese restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Added garlic. Baked whole at 350 for 1.5 hours. Basted halfway through cooking time. Let set 5 minutes and sliced thin diagonally. Served with hot mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Not sure what went wrong. I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted cooking sherry for rice wine do to no availability and cooked in the oven as it's winter in Ak and grilling was not an option. I marinated two pork tenderloins and cooked the first one after two hours in the marinade. It wasn't very good and the flavor tasted way off. So I let the second tenderloin marinate over night thinking maybe that would help. It was even worse. I usually like homemade asian recipes and I love bbq pork so not sure where this recipe went wrong as others seemed to really like it. We will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anothersmith
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Delicious! And prepared in the oven... I used a pork shoulder roast (which was on sale), trimmed of fat and cut into 2"x5" pieces. I also substituted cooking sherry for the rice wine, and I didn't use food coloring. Cooked it in the oven at 350° on a wire rack set above a pan with about 1/2" of water in it for about 45 minutes. Half-way through the cooking process, I brushed the meat with the marinade and then finished in the oven. Tastes just like my favorite restaurant but much less expensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
the only thing I did differently was to cook it in a smoker I worked 5 years in a Chinese restaurant and they cooked all their bbq ribs and loin in a smoker they even smoked duck that had been marinated in soy and spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this recipe - substituting the rice wine with gin - and it was amazing. This recipe is a keeper. Just follow the instructions and you will have a Great Dinner. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet_tooth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
this was great my family loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States