Char Siu (Chinese BBQ Pork) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holly Martin
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I added ginger and sesame oil. Also used a cheap boneles pork roast that I cut into 2" strips. Came out marvilous and enough to eat on for several days for $5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I'm a new cook learning from my mom. This is my 2nd time making this recipe and it's great. I used rice wine vinegar and baked it in the oven at 350 for 45 mins over a baking dish filled with water, brush them 1/2 way thru process with marinade. At the end put them in the boiler for about 2-4 mins to crisp the skin, used tenderloin and served with white rice. Very good and close to Sam Woo BBQ a local and classic Chinese restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Added garlic. Baked whole at 350 for 1.5 hours. Basted halfway through cooking time. Let set 5 minutes and sliced thin diagonally. Served with hot mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Not sure what went wrong. I followed the recipe exactly except I substituted cooking sherry for rice wine do to no availability and cooked in the oven as it's winter in Ak and grilling was not an option. I marinated two pork tenderloins and cooked the first one after two hours in the marinade. It wasn't very good and the flavor tasted way off. So I let the second tenderloin marinate over night thinking maybe that would help. It was even worse. I usually like homemade asian recipes and I love bbq pork so not sure where this recipe went wrong as others seemed to really like it. We will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anothersmith
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Delicious! And prepared in the oven... I used a pork shoulder roast (which was on sale), trimmed of fat and cut into 2"x5" pieces. I also substituted cooking sherry for the rice wine, and I didn't use food coloring. Cooked it in the oven at 350° on a wire rack set above a pan with about 1/2" of water in it for about 45 minutes. Half-way through the cooking process, I brushed the meat with the marinade and then finished in the oven. Tastes just like my favorite restaurant but much less expensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
the only thing I did differently was to cook it in a smoker I worked 5 years in a Chinese restaurant and they cooked all their bbq ribs and loin in a smoker they even smoked duck that had been marinated in soy and spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this recipe - substituting the rice wine with gin - and it was amazing. This recipe is a keeper. Just follow the instructions and you will have a Great Dinner. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet_tooth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
this was great my family loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I loved everything about this marinade, yum! Only addition, a slug of rice wine vinegar, with all of the sweet going on, felt it needed a little acid balance. Hubs grilled to perfection. A keeper! Thanks for the recipe, D & A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Tasted just like it was from a Chinese bbq restaurant. I skipped the red food colouring. I couldn't find rice wine so I used gin based on a tip I saw online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States