Chap Chee Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Traditionally, bamboo shoots are not used in korean cooking. I advice subsititing the bamboo shoots for shitake mushrooms. Also, I would add yellow onions in addition to the green onions and more garlic. We Koreans incorporate a lot of garlic in our cooking. I do not usually add nappa cabbage to my version, but it is nice to add for the additional color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
this is not the correct way to make the original recipe. instead of napa cabbage and bamboo shoots try fresh(boiled) or frozen spinach drained with a little sesame oil on it... and adivce is to slighty sautee the veges before adding them to the noodles.. and it looks prettier if the carrots are cut into veritcal pieces.. and sauteed onions with this dish wouldnt be bad.. lol personally i love it the way my momma makes it ^^~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AROMKIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I work in a Korean run restaurant and every once in a while, my bosses mom makes Chap Chae. It's my most favourite Korean dish. This is a very good recipe, the only thing I changed was I used sweet potato noodles instead of the cellophane noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Tastes almost exactly like my favorite Korean place's chap chae. I did not soak the noodles in warm water and instead boiled them for 5 minutes, like the directions on the noodles indicated, before draining them and setting aside for cooking. I did not add bamboo shoots or salt but I did add mushrooms. I plan on adding some red bell peppers and maybe onions next time. It ended up tasty and was quick and easy to make. Also tasted a lot better than chap chae recipes I've had from actual Korean cookbooks. Finally, I think that this recipe is more like 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was very good. I used regular shredded cabbage instead of the napa and added a little bit more sugar. I also added some hot sauce toward the end of cooking and it really added a lot to the dish. I found that the noodles were a little too long and it made it hard to combine it with the meat and vegetables, so I cut them into smaller pieces and it worked wonderfully. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
gees... Use sweet potato noodle, not cellophane noodles. you can find it in korean(or some asian) supermarkets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Having spent time in Korea and a frequent visitor to the local Korean restaurant, I found this recipe to be very authentic...and not too hard to make! We doubled the recipe for a family of 4 though. Don't forget to make/buy the sidedish of kimchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Chap chae is one of my favorite Korean dishes... this is different than the version I'm used to but still very good. My friend Yeonsoon used to make this for parties when we were in college. Her version was made without meat and contained more sesame seeds and sesame oil. Thanks for a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I cooked this for my Korean exchange student's birthday. She loved it. I made a few changes. I substituted the cellophane noodles for some noodles we got at the Asian store. They were long, clear noodles made from potato starch. (She said those were the right kind to use.)And, I added more soy sauce at her request. She also said she'd never seen the bamboo shoots in that recipe before. It came out very tasty and my whole family liked it - even my picky 1 1/2 year old loved eating the sticky noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I fed this to my brothers in law and my family and they loved it! There were no leftovers after this meal, and that was a first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States