Chap Chee Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was very good. I used regular shredded cabbage instead of the napa and added a little bit more sugar. I also added some hot sauce toward the end of cooking and it really added a lot to the dish. I found that the noodles were a little too long and it made it hard to combine it with the meat and vegetables, so I cut them into smaller pieces and it worked wonderfully. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I'm rating this on the sauce because I didn't use the meat or the specific vegetables and I used some egg noodles instead. I used a premade bag of vegetables with pea pods, water chestnuts, peppers and other misc. stir fry vegetables that worked well. The only thing I changed about the sauce was doing brown sugar instead of white, and I added a tsp. of roasted red chili paste for good measure. The sauce was simple and delicious. I look forward to trying it with meat and more authentic noodles and veggies. Oh and skip the additional salt-- you don't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was terrific! I had to make some changes, because I did not have bamboo shoots, spinach and cabbage at hand. I used broccoli, red and yellow bellpepper and babycorn instead. Kind of a difference, but it worked. Next time I will try the spinach-cabbage-bamboo-combination because I think it is going to be more special. The baby-corn I'll use anyway because my husband likes them so much. I had to add a little soy sauce to taste, but this of course depends on the kind you are using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
great recipe! I followed others' advice and used cilantro and dried red pepper flakes which gave a nice flavor. I also used japanese soba noodles instead of cellophane and it was delicious. Ideal for a weeknight meal. I will defnitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Easy, quick and tasty! I left out the green onions, salt and noodles, added some dried red pepper for a little zing and ate this over rice. Used chicken instead of the beef. Use bagged coleslaw mix and it doesn't get any easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
We loved this! I marinaded the meat in the soy/sesame/garlic etc overnight, and it was soooo flavorsome! I doubled up on the napa cabbage because I have really gone off spinach recently, and I omitted the sugar because I felt it wasn't needed. It was really tasty! Thanks, Chris J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I thought this was great. Has a nice warm flavor, and the marinade is excellent. I did make a few changes, mainly for the budget conscious. I used rice noodles and regular red cabbage. Also ommitted sesame seeds. Otherwise, I followed the exact recipe (doubled). Everyone liked it and I plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I did add some extra sugar , soy sause, and black pepper for more flavor and it was delicious. Thank you for the recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
this is authentic and was glad to find the recipe. add any colourful vegetables like carrots and peppers that can be julienned. that looks the best when displayed on a large platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I found this a bit bland so I added some fresh cilantro and mint and it perked up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States