Chap Chee Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Absolutely delicious. I used veal instead of sirloin, and it was marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very Good! I doubled the quantities though as there didn't seem enough for four. I replaced with normal cabbage and also added brocolli and green beans. It tasted excellent. A way to stop the noodles congealing is to rinse them in cold water before adding to the pan to loosen them up. I will try this recipe again but I will try it with more substantial egg noodles next time. Thanks for posting it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Chap chae is one of my favorite Korean dishes... this is different than the version I'm used to but still very good. My friend Yeonsoon used to make this for parties when we were in college. Her version was made without meat and contained more sesame seeds and sesame oil. Thanks for a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Fabulous! Marinade was so good, the whole dish had excellent flavor. I couldn't find cellophane noodles so just served over rice and omitted spinach. I also added more steak and doubled the marinade. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
My husband and I loved it! This is the first five star rating I've ever given! The only change I made was to leave out the cabbage so that I could serve it with a Napa cabbage salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This dish has such great flavor! I used bok choy instead of napa cabbage, and I used a 10 ounce package of frozen chopped spinach instead of the fresh. I didn't add any additional salt because of all the soy sauce, and I am glad I didn't. I couldn't find cellophane noodles, so I used rice noodles instead (the kind you would use for pho or pad thai). I didn't have any problems with my noodles sticking together once I mixed them with the other ingredients. I have never had traditional Chap Chee Noodles before, but this recipe turned out great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
this is not the correct way to make the original recipe. instead of napa cabbage and bamboo shoots try fresh(boiled) or frozen spinach drained with a little sesame oil on it... and adivce is to slighty sautee the veges before adding them to the noodles.. and it looks prettier if the carrots are cut into veritcal pieces.. and sauteed onions with this dish wouldnt be bad.. lol personally i love it the way my momma makes it ^^~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AROMKIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was fantastic, even my picky 8 year old son ate it. I added broccoli, red pepper, and mushrooms instead of carrots, bamboo shoots and spinach. The flavor was great. I did have the problem with the noodles sticking together. It seems like once you put them in the wok they like to clump together.......still taste good just not as pretty I guess. Thanks for the recipe I know we will be making this again at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Tastes almost exactly like my favorite Korean place's chap chae. I did not soak the noodles in warm water and instead boiled them for 5 minutes, like the directions on the noodles indicated, before draining them and setting aside for cooking. I did not add bamboo shoots or salt but I did add mushrooms. I plan on adding some red bell peppers and maybe onions next time. It ended up tasty and was quick and easy to make. Also tasted a lot better than chap chae recipes I've had from actual Korean cookbooks. Finally, I think that this recipe is more like 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Great flavor. I've made this several times and use regular spaghetti noodles instead since I have never been successful with the asian noodles before and my husband doesn't like them anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States