Chap Chee Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe! I'd probably make a few changes to adjust to my taste. My only problem was that the beef turned out quite gummy, but the flavor of the dish itself was very good. I'd keep the recipe cutting out the meat, but leaving everything else as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bagira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
i just tried this recipe last night and i was very impressed with the authenticity of the taste. i was a little worried because my expectations were high, but i was not disappointed. the only adjustments i made were adding a few key ingredients such as red and green bell peppers, onions and mushrooms. you can pretty much add whatever ingredients you like in your chap chae! excellent recipe. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was OK. We thought the sesame oil was a little overpowering. We also added mushrooms. Not my favorite but not all bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I cooked this for my Korean exchange student's birthday. She loved it. I made a few changes. I substituted the cellophane noodles for some noodles we got at the Asian store. They were long, clear noodles made from potato starch. (She said those were the right kind to use.)And, I added more soy sauce at her request. She also said she'd never seen the bamboo shoots in that recipe before. It came out very tasty and my whole family liked it - even my picky 1 1/2 year old loved eating the sticky noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I would double the marinade next time, and double the final sauce that is cooked with the veggies. I also didn't like the meat being cooked the entire time with the veggies, and will cook first, remove and then add later when all the veggies are done. I would give 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Traditionally, bamboo shoots are not used in korean cooking. I advice subsititing the bamboo shoots for shitake mushrooms. Also, I would add yellow onions in addition to the green onions and more garlic. We Koreans incorporate a lot of garlic in our cooking. I do not usually add nappa cabbage to my version, but it is nice to add for the additional color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
gees... Use sweet potato noodle, not cellophane noodles. you can find it in korean(or some asian) supermarkets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Really great- I've never had the traditional version, but this really is a great recipe. I used rice noodles because that's what we had in the cupboard. I also added some broccoli and used bok choy instead of cabbage. I did double the marinade and the sauce. Everything had a really great, mild flavor- perfect for us because of our small children. My husband added some red pepper flakes to his, but he said it was really just fine without them as well. Definitely a keeper- goes together in a flash once you have all the veggies prepped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was so good! I double the recipe due to other reviews. I did not find cello. noodles so used rice noodle which worked well. I added broccoli, (good choice) & used reg. cabbage. Hubby thought it was a bit fry so I added some chicken broth that I had & it helped. Marinade was really good! Fairly quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I think the dish looked good, but I made it just as written, and have to say I was diaappointed as it was very very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States