Chap Chee Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
According to other raters, this may not be genuine Korean food, but it was good. I used: onion powder (I was out of onion), snap peas, cabbage, bean sprouts, korean noodle, dash of seasoned rice vinegar, and 1ts Sri Racha hot sauce. Say what ya want, I thought this was fabulous as did the rest of my family. I will definitely be making ths again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I found the cellophane noodles at Big Lots and so I needed a recipe that called for them and found this little gem (I like to experiment with different ingredients and styles of cooking). It literally took (including chopping) 30 minutes to put together {after letting the meat marinade all day}. I scaled the recipe to work for 1 lb. of steak, but used only about 7 oz of noodles. After soaking the noodles in warm water for 5 minutes I drained them and rinsed in cold water then cut them up really well with my kitchen shears. After reading the reviews I made the following changes: subbed a packaged coleslaw mix (16 oz) for the Napa cabbage and spinach, omitted the salt, subbed canned sliced mushrooms for bamboo shoots (it's what my store had), added 16 oz frozen thawed broccoli cuts and about 1 cup frozen thawed green beans, and b/c some of the comments were that this dish turned out a little bland I added 2 T oyster sauce and 1 tsp. chili sauce with garlic (BTW I decreased the pepper to 1/2 tsp. for the sauce, don't forget that I scaled the recipe for 1 lb. of meat). Turned out great; served with crunchy chow mein noodles and egg rolls. The flavor was both sweet and slightly spicy. I could only give 4* b/c my sister isn't fond at all of anything even remotely spicy; I give it 6*!!! Hopefully I'll be able to find these noodles again b/c I would definitely make this again then:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This is pretty good, but it could use a little more more flavor. I used double the garlic, but it could possibly use more. Next time I will probably sub fish sauce for soy sauce and add mushrooms as well. Overall, I will definitely making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
If you want to cook Korean food, at least know what goes in it. You dont put bamboo shoots into chap chae. You dont put napa cabbage either. This recipe is also missing mushrooms. The authentic dish calls for dried mushrooms which are rehydrated in water prior to cooking. Oh and this is suppose to be made with pork, NOT beef. And for those reviews that say not to use cellophane noodles because of the bland taste, its NOT chapchae if its made with anything else! Similar to people saying that taco bell seasonings and such isnt mexican food, this is NOwhere close to korean food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sungmi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Fabulous, easy and quick. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
As written, this recipe is bland. It's a good starting-off point to tweak it to your own tastes. I ended up adding more soy sauce, more garlic, rice vinegar, green onions, cilantro, red pepper flakes, and Sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a very tasty Korean style dish. I went down to our local Asian market and bought sweet potato noodles to use with this recipe because I like the texture better, otherwise I made it exactly as written. The beef was tender and flavorful, the vegetables crisp and the sauce was just right--not too salty and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
We left the noodles out because my husband does low carb. This was a GREAT dish, it was delicious, pretty and easy to make, my husband wanted to rate it a 10! I'm sure I'll be making this monthly. Thanks so much for such a fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I've made this now about 5 times, and have incorporate the suggestions from reviewers about more authentic ingredients (like shiitakes instead of bamboo shoots). The only thing I've never been able to get my hands on is the potato noodles, but I'm not giving up. Regardless, my husband and I both think this is a fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

Lo Mein Noodles

A quick and easy Asian-inspired noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States