Chanukah Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Nice small batch recipe for roll out cookies. Sometimes I'm in the mood for a nice sugar cookie, but most recipes make enough to feed 40 people. :) Love that these can be rolled out without refrigeration and that they aren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I had a slight problem with the dough after the wet and dry were mixed, it got clumpy and hard to work with. I added the egg whites for moisture and managed to shape them into balls. After the baking process, the cookies turned out well. They are good without frosting and have a mouthwatering smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
great cookies love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These cookies were moist and very good. I added homemade icing just for x-mas flare, and that was literally just "icing on the cake" . WIth or without, these cookies are great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edilbim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent simple recipe. Loved that we didn't have to refrigerate the dough (always the worst part when my seven year old is helping cook). Perfect recipe as is! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karetha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Thank you for this recipe. I made these cookies twice as sugar cookies adding a frosting that I made on my own. The last time for Thanks Giving. I shaped them into menorahs, hearts, mooses, and people using cookie cutters that I have had for a while and finally decided to use them. I will be making more cookies without frosting as butter cookies tonight for my Hanukkah party that will be tomorrow. I will shape them as driedels and menorahs. I love these cookies. I put the dough in the freezer for about Happy Hanukkah, eighth night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These cookies were really good! I even put a Hersheys Kiss in the middle on some, and colored sugar on others. They were amazing cookies that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved these cookies! They were such a hit the first time that we made 2 batches! The orange juice is a great touch. They are almost like the orange juice cookies in Modern Jewish Cooking - but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the exact recipe I grew up with. The recipe was on the lid of the box of my mom's Chanukah cookie cutters. They are good cookies if you like crispy cookies to dunk in your tea. My mom always sprinkled the cookies with blue colored sugar before baking. I find this dough a pain to work with. It is too sticky and then if you add more flour it ruins the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made these for friends this year and they were great. Will use for Christmas cookies as well. Great flavor and wonderfully crisp. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States