Chanterelle Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was a great tasting dish! However, I think it tasted better before I added all of the parmesan (even though I am a HUGE cheese fan). Next time, I'll try it with half the cheese. It seemed to dry it up and make it too salty. Other than that, it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was delicious. I had never prepared chanterelles before, but they were in my organic delivery box, so I looked for recipes. I only made half the amount stated, because there are only two of us, and because my chanterelles were less than two cups. But there was nothing left and we could have eaten more of this wonderfully creamy, yet al dente risotto. You could use more chanterelles than stated here, or even add other mushrooms, I’m sure that would be very yummy. Also make sure you don’t use that hideous Parmesan powder stuff, it will ruin the experience, so who ever uses that should not give a bad review. ;) I also put some freshly shredded Italian parsley on my portion. My man doesn’t like it much, but I think it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrew P
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is a seabass with a butternut squash sauce (very easy recipe) atop the chanterelle risotto. All the different flavors came together and complimented each other. This will definitely be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Yummy! Great base but I added a lot. I used chicken broth and needed 2 more cups of broth to fully cook the rice. I added thyme, and used 1 cup sliced baby bellas. To replicate our favorite risotto from a French diner, I added about a 1/2 cup corn right at the end, and about a quarter cup chopped walnuts! Topped with a little truffle oil...bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
It clearly says to stir the mushroom mixture into the rice then add the cheese and cook for another minute. Plus I think that is obvious that you would mix the two together in the end. Next time you should read a little more carefully before being so critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I used shiitake intead and it turned out perfect. A lot of muscle work went into making it but the it was well worth the reward. I think I only used about half the parmagiano reggiano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Okay, so you've got a pan of sauteed mushrooms and a pan of cooked Arborio rice, then what? Instructions seem to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This recipe was delicious, and it is hearty enough to reheat leftovers for lunch the next day. If you are a cheese fan, this is right up your alley. The only change I would suggest would be to cook the mushrooms closer to when the rice is done cooking, as they dried out a little bit by the time I was ready to add them. Other than that, this was a huge crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This was absolutely delicious!! I did add in some white wine for a little kick and it turned out great. We will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
My favorite risotto is made with a dry white wine reduction, but it's easy enough to add to this recipe. This looks like a wonderful recipe, Christine. Thanks for sharing and I've saved it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States