Chanterelle Mushroom and Bacon Tartlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I thought the tartlets were delicious but next time I planning to add sausage and cut the mushrooms in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwiscount

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I know everything is better with bacon, but to save some calories, I omitted it. I'm sure with the bacon, this is a 5-star, so that's what I'm giving it. I needed to use up a container of sliced button mushrooms, so I used that instead of the chanterelles. And I used all dried herbs instead of fresh. And I used the pinot grigio I was drinking instead of the brandy. And with my changes that made this wonderful recipe much more low brow than it was intended to be, it was a solid 4-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Not my favourite appetizer. I brought them to a party and no-one asked for the recipe. I will look for another use for my mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I am not a fan of swiss cheese, so I substituted Gruyere. Also didn't have any brandy, so I used a Chardonnay. The tartlets were amazing and I got loads of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipie is absolutly wonderful as written I have made these several times and I always get rave reviews. Perfect appertizer or even fancy football food which is when I usually make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Totally gorgeous - followed the recipe exactly as set out except didn't use brandy and used a bit more egg and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I used this filling to go over crostini instead of phyllo cups. I didn't use the brandy because I don't like the taste but other than that- I popped em' under the broiler for about 4 minutes and they were perfect! I brought them to a party and they were gone right away with requests for the recipe. I have to say that I think with the egg and bacon texture they would be a huge hit at a brunch or breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I found this to be quite a charming recipe--easy to make with impressive results. Since the phyllo tart shells are not available in my area, I took phyllo dough and pressed it around the cups of a muffin pan, then filled the cups with the mixture. Although the recipe lends itself well to chanterelle mushrooms, it can be modified easily, e.g. by substituting spinach for the mushrooms. Any quiche ingredients would work. I find that this particular recipe tastes best by increasing the garlic, onions, cream cheese and Swiss cheese a bit, and I add an extra egg. This dish is also quite suitable for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
The only changes I made were to omit the parsley, and I used chestnut mushrooms. I couldn't find phyllo shells (admittedly, I didn't look too hard) so I used a cookie cutter to cut out circles of white bread which I pressed into a greased muffin tin, and toasted in the oven for about 5 mins. Turned out really well! This is a nice little snack/appetizer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Pretty good, but next time I will add more Swiss cheese, cream cheese, and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States