Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by pep369
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The cheesecake looked freat when it came out. The only problem was that when i cut into it the crust crumbled. So it looked like cheesecake filling and crushed graham cracker on the side. But other than that it tasted great. I wish it didnt have to take that long in the oven. Even though it was off. But if that is what it takes for not cracks im good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have made this cake a few times now. And it's the best i have ever eaten. I was happy making junior's of n.y. but this blows them out of the water. First it does'nt turn back into a dense block of creamcheese. It's a bit fluffy in texture and still creamy. Read other reviews and pick different tips. I hand mixed after creamcheese and sugar spun in stand mixer. Also a water bath, ran a knife around it after the hour and put back in oven without water for remainder of the time. Pefect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
i don't know if this recipe is different from the classic new york cheesecake but i like it and my dad liked it too , but i had 2 issues : first the crust , very moist so i recommend to put it in the oven for 10 min to be little dry and crispy . the second issue that the cheesecake batter was little runny so i added 1 more Tsp four but after baking it was to short , i mean the batter was like compressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is the real thing!!! It's simply decadent. My husband, who doesn't like desserts, had 2 slices in 1 sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This recipe is awesome!!! I didn't change a thing. I followed Morena's directions and I had a perfect cheesecake. I topped it off with blueberry drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
now my favourite cheesecake, letting is rest the recommended amount of time is important. tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The only thing I would add is the grated zest of 1/4 - 1/2 of a fresh lemon-the lemon zest is an essential flavor in authentic New York cheesecake. It does not make the cake taste like lemon it just adds a deeper component to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I've tried many cheesecake recipes and this one tops them all. It is like a deli New York cheesecake. It is dense but creamy. I did not bake it in a water bath, I placed a pan of boiling water under it. I had a nice golden brown top and absolutely no cracks. (I greased the sides of my pan). This cake is not too rich! It would be great with a chocolate ganache or any topping really. I'm saving this recipe in my family recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is my go to cheesecake recipe. I have made other cheesecakes that are much more complicated and take a lot longer and I always find myself going back to this recipe. It is the best! Follow the directions exactly and you will be so pleased. When my family wants cheesecake, this is the one they are always talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
The reviewer who said the temperature was too high is correct. I just made this cheesecake and as it is cooling, enormous cracks appeared. Cracks are OK but brown edges and a dry texture is not. I am not a novice baker and should have reviewed other recipes I have made. However my son preferred a "classic" cheesecake to a flavored one and I was sucked in by the positive reviews of the classic cheesecake. I recommend baking at 300, not 350. Oh well, will dress this cheesecake up with a strawberry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 4,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States