Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Ssandoval
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
i love how simple they made it. First time doing it, love the flavor, still have to work in the texture, i think i overmix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This is my 'go to' cheesecake recipe now. It has been for a couple years. Easy recipe that comes out perfect each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I'm a big fan of cheesecake and I'm always looking for an easy recipe and this is a GREAT ONE. This definitely will be the one I continue to use. I gave it the above rating because as said it was easy and the taste was great. The only problem is it cracked after I followed the exact directions. I don't know what I did wrong. But it seems every cheesecake I've made it had always cracked in the middle. So for those who want to use this , it's a great recipe. Hopefully yours doesn't crack right in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is the best cheesecake recipe I have tried. I've made it about half a dozen times and it comes out perfect each and every time. The trick is to stick a pan of water on a rack under the cheesecake to keep it from cracking. Then just let it sit; don't move it, don't put it in the fridge just let it finishing cooling in the oven. You won't be disappointed. This has made me a hero in my house. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cherryville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KiraluvsCooking
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I rarely write a review but this recipe is absolutely devine so it was a must! This recipe was my first attempt at cheesecake EVER. I've made it twice in the same month so far. I made it just as it is listed ingredient wise (maybe adding a little more sugar the second time.) I did however use a water bath. Which in my opinion changes NOTHING as far as the actual recipe is concerned, the method of cooking (waterbath) just enhanced this recipes texture (moisture) and apperance(little to no cracking). In my first attempt the cake did have a very small crack (I think it was because I opened the oven a few time too many). I baked it in a 8 in cake pan since I didn't own a spring form pan at the time. The cake did rise and fall but was still perfect in the end. To cover the small crack I used a sour cream topping. The second time I used a springform pan. I tried to cheat and only wrapped foil halfway up once, water did leak in a little. The crust did get soggy but wasn't a huge issue. The second attempt using the sprinform pan didn't look as nice as the cake pan edge wise, but was still a success with no cracks at atl. I also vovered it with sc topping. Lastly, I also baked the crust for a few mins. before for each cake. And my water bath pan was a 1 1/2 inch cookie sheet with hot water added about 1 inch up. In my next attempt I will adjustvthe temp a little lower to see of it helps lighten the edges. All in in this recipe is a Slam Dunk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Not as sweet as I would like -> next time add more sugar or vanilla. Need the water bath or else it cracks! To fit in my cake pan - half the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very good but did crack. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
DELICIOUS! ID
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fizz
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wow..Seriously. I haven't made a ton of cheesecakes but this is the first one I didn't crack. Incredibly easy and tasty (eating it as I type this). I stayed pretty true to the recipe but here are my minute deviations: I mixed the graham and butter in my spring form pan then once pressed in place I wiped down the sides of the pan to get the crumbs and RE-SPRAYED WITH COOKING SPRAY. I did all of my mixing in the mixer like the video--my cream cheese sat out of the fridge for several hours to make sure it was soft..that is the key with cream cheese recipes. I mixed the cream cheese and the sugar on high until it was thoroughly smooth and the rest I did on low for only as long as needed to mix. I also scraped down often. I poured half the mixture into the spring form pan then scrapped the bowl and mixed it a few seconds by hand to make sure anything I scrapped was mixed so I didn't have a splotch of cream cheese. The next part is where I deviated the most: I put the cheese cake in the middle rack and a deep pan on the next rack directly under it (not sitting in it). I filled the pan with hot water. Since the oven was open while I did that (losing heat) I turned it off and back on to make it fire up right away and added 2 minutes to the time. 62 minutes baking and turned it off (DID NOT OPEN IT) and let it sit for 5 hours. The hardest part of this recipe is having watch it through the oven door for 5 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiepayton
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Perfect cheesecake every time. I add water to a pan, and set it in the oven ("water bath").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 4,556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States