Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
The cheesecake itself was delicious and there were certainly no complaints! I made it exactly as the recipes states, but where I got stumped was the "15 Graham Crackers". I didn't know what constitutes 1 Graham Cracker so I watched the video and to me it looked like one whole cracker sheet, so I used 15 of those.... well I was wrong because my crust was really dry! Now I've determined it was 15 half cracker sheets (7 1/2 whole cracker sheets). No one whose eatin it has seed to mind and I will definitely make it again but this time I'll use what I've determined to be the proper amount of graham crackers. I left a pic too if anyone wants to see it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Have made this recipe several times. Once use it to made cheesecake bites. Used a cookie sheet and reduced the cook time to about 20min. Had alot going on so didnt have time to let it cool in the oven for 5 hours so I took it out, let it coll on the counter for 45min and put the whole sheet in the freezer. After it was frozen cut it into squares and wrapped in in shrink wrap. They were AMAZING!!! Perfect for bites and to dip in choise toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made Chantal's recipe many times over and it never failed me, I've even made it for a resturant and they served it! If I could I'd give it a Michelin star! My guests will give it 5 more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munynics Frenchies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
A few years ago I tried this cheesecake as my first ever cheesecake attempt. I failed. I've been jinxed ever since and have FUBARed every cheesecake I try, but today I revisited this recipe and used a few tips I found throughout my cheesecake failures... And... It came out perfect!! I am so relieved and thrilled! Things I did differently this time: -let ingredients come to room temperature, not cold out of the fridge. -Water bath - if you don't know what it is you should google it! -Allow the cake to cool at least 1 hr in the oven, turned off, don't ever open the door! Allow to cool a few more hours on the counter before refrigerating, it won't crack! :) also don't take the spring form off until its cool. Thanks so much for the great recipe I hope my tips can help the other cheesecake novices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole lee
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
DELICIOUS cheese cake!! I made mine with the homemade seedless raspberry sauce as the other reviewers recommended with some quality white chocolate shavings with fresh raspberries around the outside. I put whip cream around the outside also but it melted by the time I made it to our dinner. (I used can whip cream since I was in a time crunch) Next time I'm going to make my own whip and make it super thick so it doesn't melt. I did run into some problems tho! I did make my graham cracker crust with sugar, cinnamon, and lots of butter like others on here too. I baked the crust also for 14 min at 350 while I was mixing my cheese cake ingredients (which were all at room temp and I also recommend not to put the flour and vanilla in at the same time, I waited till everything else was incorporated before I sifted in my flour to prevent lumps and made sure too tap my pan to get any air bubbles out). My spring form wasn't very tight so all the butter from my crust was melting all over my oven! When I opened my oven, smoke went everywhere! So I had to shut off the oven and wait for it to cool so I could clean up all the butter. My house was soooo smoky!! Ahh So after that fiasco I made sure to not wrap my spring form with tin foil, since I know it would leak, So I used a turkey bag that I had, as other reviews have used successfully with no water getting into their cakes crust. So I poured my yummy creamy looking batter into my crunchy crust, wrapped the outside of my spring form
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I've made a few cheesecakes and this is the best. I prefer more butter in the crust but that's the only change. Everything else is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Hawkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Cheesecake is fickle; I'll be the first to say that. I've made a couple of them, typically with minimal ingredients: crust of butter and graham crackers; filling of eggs, cream cheese, sugar, and a little vanilla. Sometimes it cracks, and sometimes it doesn't. I incorporated all of my tricks into this recipe: soften the cream cheese, don't overmix, don't open the oven door at all during baking and a couple hours after. After several hours I opened the oven door to a glorious...crack in the shape of an X decorating the top. After some chilling, I tried a slice. Still runny in the middle. Oh well. This time was definitely a miss. The filling tastes delicious (needs a little less crust), but I'll have to fiddle with the method a little more to get it just right. Edited to add: okay, so I'm coming back the next day (after leaving my cheesecake in the freezer all night) with my tail between my legs. I should've known better, too: THOROUGHLY CHILL YOUR CHEESECAKE. Firmed up nicely and tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was my first time ever making Cheesecake and it came out delicious. I followed the directions exactly. Thank you for sharing this recipe will definitely be added to our household favorite desserts. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was my first time making a New York Cheesecake and it turned out great. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. I just made sure the ingredients were at room temperature and did not over mix. I didn't have any foil to wrap the bottom of the springform pan so I just put a small pan of water on the rack below the cheesecake pan and it turned out wonderful with no cracks in it. I baked it for 1 hour and then left it in the oven for 4 hours. Once it cooled I then refrigerated it. The family said it was the best cheesecake they had ever ate. This will be my go to recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My best friend and I tried this recipe. It was... ok. We are not by any means professional bakers, so I'm sure we made some rookie mistake (like over beating the cream cheese, which I saw in the comments). However, the graham cracker crust I felt was too dry and needed more butter to hold it together. Also, the cooking time recommended burnt our cake! :-( Our cake did NOT crack, though! We cooked it for the recommended 1 hour at 350, then let it sit for 5.5 hours. The cake itself was a bit gritty (over whipping, I guess) and lacked flavor. We topped with strawberries but I think the overcooking really just killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States