Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
DELICIOUS! ID
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fizz
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Wow..Seriously. I haven't made a ton of cheesecakes but this is the first one I didn't crack. Incredibly easy and tasty (eating it as I type this). I stayed pretty true to the recipe but here are my minute deviations: I mixed the graham and butter in my spring form pan then once pressed in place I wiped down the sides of the pan to get the crumbs and RE-SPRAYED WITH COOKING SPRAY. I did all of my mixing in the mixer like the video--my cream cheese sat out of the fridge for several hours to make sure it was soft..that is the key with cream cheese recipes. I mixed the cream cheese and the sugar on high until it was thoroughly smooth and the rest I did on low for only as long as needed to mix. I also scraped down often. I poured half the mixture into the spring form pan then scrapped the bowl and mixed it a few seconds by hand to make sure anything I scrapped was mixed so I didn't have a splotch of cream cheese. The next part is where I deviated the most: I put the cheese cake in the middle rack and a deep pan on the next rack directly under it (not sitting in it). I filled the pan with hot water. Since the oven was open while I did that (losing heat) I turned it off and back on to make it fire up right away and added 2 minutes to the time. 62 minutes baking and turned it off (DID NOT OPEN IT) and let it sit for 5 hours. The hardest part of this recipe is having watch it through the oven door for 5 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiepayton
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Perfect cheesecake every time. I add water to a pan, and set it in the oven ("water bath").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
great recipe, also a great base for more elaborate concoctions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is my go to recipe. Everyone loves it!! It is not to sweet and just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Perfect, followed directions and came out amazing, no cracks at all. Family loved it and have been asking for another. Be warned, it is rich, and addicting!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyndy Brooks
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I tried this and it was fantastic! Just don't open the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I've made this cheesecake many times and it always gets rave reviews. However, I don't care for the crust so I use my own Oreo crust recipe - 2.5 cups ground Oreo cookies (centers removed), 5 tbsp melted butter, 1/3 c sugar, 1/8 tsp salt. I usually follow the directions and leave the cheesecake in the oven for 5 hours after baking but this last time I didn't because I was pressed for time. After it was done baking I cracked the oven door open and used a wooden spoon to keep it from closing. I let it sit for about 20 minutes then pulled it out and let it cool on the counter for about an hour before putting it in the fridge to chill. No cracks. I believe it's because I baked it in a water bath. I wrapped my 9" springform cheesecake batter filled pan with 2 layers of aluminum foil and set it inside a 12" round pan. I poured about 1" of boiling water into the larger pan. Then put it in the oven to bake. The steam from the water helps keeps the cheesecake moist and prevents cracks. In fact, once I didn't use a water bath and the cheesecake cracked even after letting it cool in the oven for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Great standard go to recipe. I split the recipe in half to bake in a small round cake pan. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is only my second cheesecake, and I made a few changes based on other recipes I've found. For the crust, I used 2 cups cinnamon graham crackers, pulsed in food processor with 1/2 cup walnuts, 1/2 cup melted, unsalted butter, 1 egg white, 1/2 cup organic sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. I greased a springform pan and pressed the crust mixture into the bottom and up around the sides (my husband prefers it that way); then I pre-baked the crust in a 325 degree oven for 17 min. For the batter, I omitted the flour and milk altogether. The rest of the ingredients are the same. I found that Cabot Neufchatel Cheese and Cabot Sour Cream work well, and they are GMO-free. Rather than wrapping the pan in foil to set in the bain marie, I simply filled a large roasting pan with about 1 inch of hot water and set it on the rack below the cheesecake. I baked it at 325 for one hour and let it set for only 2-3 hours in the oven (no opening the door). Removed from oven, I let it cool to room temp. (no cracking! Yay!), then popped it into the fridge overnight to chill. This made an AWESOME cheesecake! The crust was the best I've ever tasted, probably thanks to the added walnuts, sugar & cinnamon. I am new to cheesecake-baking, but I found this combination of ingredients to be a total winner. This cake got RAVE reviews from family & friends, and is so easy to make. Will be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 4,569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States