Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've never left a review for any recipe before. I am not a good cook/baker. I have always wanted to try baking a cheesecake, but was always too intimidated. My 15 year old daughter loves cheesecake so she convinced me to try this recipe with her. We followed this exactly as written with all ingredients close to room temperature. The video was very helpful. This cake is AMAZING!! If I'd known I could make something this good I wouldn't have waited till I was 50 years old to try. Now I need to figure out how to make a good fruit topping and how to freeze slices. THANK YOU for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Half-wit Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
It was my very first time making a cheesecake from scratch and naturally, it was more than a little intimidating. Secondly, my oven won't be nominated for any prizes -- unless you count "Museum Centerpiece" or "Not-quite-antique-but-just-old", so, needless to say, the odds were stacked against me from the get-go. But, the amazing thing is, having read all the reviews, and, intent on applying the cross-cutting modifications, then reading a review that said to ignore all the modifications, I went ahead and ignored them, and then some. I did, in the short of it, follow this recipe to the exact T, nearly, with the exception of substituting regular milk for low-fat evaporated milk and very religiously, ensuring that I did not get too carried away with the mixing. Taking another reviewer's suggestion, I only mixed the cream cheese and the sugar with the handmixer. I did, however, pulverize the white sugar into a castor-sugar like particle in order to cut down the mixing time. And thereafter, I used a spoon to do the incorporating. I don't know if this helped - but I had not a crack on my cheesecake - absolutely flawless. My oven time did run to about 1 hour 30 minutes, but I fear that's because my oven will soon be retiring (or so, I hope!). All in all, this is an absolutely (almost) fail-safe, and comfortingly decadent and soothing cheesecake recipe. Bake away and enjoy to your heart's (but not waistline!) content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Half-wit Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I can't believe this is cheesecake???? I have been missing out all these years. This cheesecake is fluffy and airy and is MUCH MUCH better than the dense, tight cake that is made from the back of the package. Didn't have vanilla extract on hand, so we used almond with an apple topping...... Wow!! Everyone in my life enjoyed it immensely. Soooooo... we are making it again this month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmach
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So easy and delicious! I put in 2 tablespoons of flour instead of 1/4 cup and it was awesome. So creamy and smooth. I also ran a knife around the edge after it was done baking and put it back into the oven with the door ajar to let cool for about an hour. Then straight to the fridge and I unlocked the spring form pan and no cracks. Thanks for posting. I will be making this wonderful cheesecake again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I found this a dense and thought the flavor was a little bit off, but my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
So good! I followed the filling recipe exactly, although I did warm up the ingredients on the preheating oven so they weren't cold. For the crust, I used 1 sleeve crushed crackers, 1/2 stick butter, and 1/3 cup brown sugar. SO GOOD - but should have doubled. Wrapped spring pan in two layers of big, heavy duty foil, no issues with water coming in. I poured a full kettle of boiling water in large roasting pan bath. Put in 350 oven for 60 min, then just turned oven off. No cracks and perfectly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Liu
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I tried this few weeks ago. It was fantastic! Everyone tasted it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jinan, Shandong Province, China
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
All I can say is WOW!! I followed the recipe exactly and my cheesecake turned out amazing. The only thing I forgot was to grease the pan in the beginning, so the cheesecake did crack. But it was easily covered up by my topping. I made a lemon blueberry compote using half a bag if frozen blueberries, the zest and juice from one lemon and sugar to sweeten it up. Simmered until thickened and poured on top of cheesecake. It was my first cheesecake and everyone said it tasted gourmet! Seems like a fool proof recipe, I enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 4,480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States