Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This cheesecake is great for starters! I have been complimented by both family and the office that this looks professional and is one of the best homemade cheesecakes that they've had. I may have whipped the filling too much the second time I made it, which lead to the surface breaking. It is also great served with fresh fruit compote!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NathanDunn
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
The flavor of this cheesecake is decadent and the texture is creamy. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the crust fell apart too much. I followed the instructions as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I followed the directions exactly, took advice of another reviewer and never checked it cooked it for one hour turned the oven off, and waited several hours before opening the oven. Turned out beautiful and tasty. My husbands coworkers asked if I would make more for $50 each! This cheesecake is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Gunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I am in the middle of this recipe for the first time. It would really help if I would have known how many grams of graham crackers to use...were they square or rectangle? I started with 15 rectangle and felt that the crust was too dry so I added more butter and froze the remainder crust. As an America, living overseas, it really helps to know weight or measured amount of crumbs for these things. My cheesecake is in the oven now so we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I have been making it since the year of 2002 and every time it is a hit. I've baked other cheesecakes but this one is the best! The only thing I'm changing is the crust. Sometimes it's a layer of sponge cake, sometimes crushed Oreos with butter (discarding the filling). Also using 1/4 cup less sugar tastes better to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Tthe flavor was okay, but the cheesecake was very light and airy, and I couldn't taste the cream cheese like I would in a normal cheesecake. There was a huge split in the middle when I took it out to refrigerate, and just got worse when it was ready to be eaten. I followed the directions perfectly, but the texture still came out kind of disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
BEST CHEESECAKE EVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Ok, I have to say I was worried beyond belief when first making this beauty. I'm not much of a baker (or cook at that) but I love to dabble and I thought "do i love cheesecake." And I am so glad I chose this recipe! Even having never made cheesecake before, this wasn't difficult at all - just long. It was torture waiting the 6+ hours for it to cool! Although it cracked along the surface (the family was too busy devouring it to care haha) and the flour clumping in the batter ruffled my feathers a bit (fixed the right quick with an electric mixer), I couldn't have been happier with the final product. Everyone in the house loved it! Next time I make this I'm definitely adding a fruit topping of some kind - that's the only thing we thought was missing from this bad boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya ter Borg
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made this exactly as per the recipe (maybe a little less flour) and it was perfect. I greased the sides thoroughly and while I wrapped it in foil for the waterbath, I didn't have a bath big enough for it so I did without and it was perfect. No cracks. Left it in the oven for about 2 hours after cooking (cooked for about an extra 25 minutes) and then refrigerated overnight. Topped with berries. My husband loved it! So rich but so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya ter Borg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Didn't change a thing. Worked out well. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States