Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Adding my review to the 4,000 already posted because this is the best cheesecake recipe I have ever made. I made minor changes to the ingredients to make it Gluten Free(GF) The crust: 7oz Schar GF Shortbread cookies, Crumbled in the food processor, added 2 Tbsp brown sugar and 4 Tbsp melted butter. I also substituted 2 Tbsp GF flour for the 1/4 cup flour. Allow all ingredients to reach room temperature. I used my hand-mixer to combine the cream cheese & sugar, then added the milk. I hand-mixed the remaining ingredients carefully. The key to perfection is the baking. Followed instructions from an old cookbook for preparing the springform pan: Assemble the pan and liberally coat bottom and sides with butter. Cut a circle out of parchment paper and line the bottom of the pan pressing into the butter. Cut additional parchment to line the sides of the pan, making it 3 inches taller than the pan. Press paper into the buttered sides. Butter the parchment paper and press the crust into the bottom and sides. Preheat to 350 degrees and bake the crust for 10 minutes. Remove and allow crust to cool while preparing the cake. I followed LaurelC43 cooking instructions. After baking the crust, I lowered the temp to 225 degrees. I do not have a pan large enough to hold my cheesecake, so I put a water-filled pan on the bottom rack. I cooked it for 3 hours, 40 min. Turned off the oven and with a knife loosened the crust from the paper. Closed oven door and left it for 6 hours. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The cheesecake itself is awesome. Great taste and perfect texture. I added a little bit of lemon zest and that was delicious. My only problem with this recipe is the crust. 15 graham crackers and 2 tablespoons of butter? Really? That doesn't make a crust, it makes crumbs. You need less graham crackers or more butter or both if you want the crumbs to stick together into something resembling a crust. Tweak the crust for sure. Otherwise, the cake is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Fabulous recipe! The bottom should be baked first for no longer than 10 mins at 350, otherwise it's too soggy. This is a great base recipe to add flavour to- I made lemon with lemon extract and grated rind from a lemon. Will make many times I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Perfection! My mother made this recipe for years and now I have made it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Amazing!! :) perfectly light an delicious! Im in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Such a great Cheesecake recipe!!!! Was my first time making cheesecake and was a huge hit! Did use a water bath in the oven while cooking however. Didn't crack at all...left it in the oven until it was cool. Tons of compliments and requests for the recipe! Highly recommend---- A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Easiest and best Cheesecake recipe ever! Don't change a thing. Mine did NOT crack. I bake all of my cheesecakes in a water bath. I think the steam helps them not crack. Make sure you wrap your springform pan in foil first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Rizzitano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cherryfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Amazing classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was delicious. Mine really cracked, but that didn't affect the taste. Next time I'll try to mix it less per other reviewers. Anyway, we just trimmed the top part off and covered with fresh, sliced strawberries, which made it look gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States