Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Love! 12 1.My 1st cheesecake EVER. I knew nothing! Cracks? Water baths? Huh? I was certain I would ruin this and not know why. 2. EASY PREP. I used a mixer for cream cheese and sugar only, wooden spoon for the rest, as suggested by someone else. (Ok so far, plenty of time to mess it up) 3. I added almond extract (I like it) 4. Used a hot water bath because I saw it in other recipes and got confused...I think this is ok 5. After an hour, oven off, I peeked and saw that cc was caramel colored and sunken in the middle. (was that ok? Who knows... optimism dropping) 6. 30 min later worried about water bath, Googled, found out that not using foil around the pan, like me, in the bath, makes crust soggy. :/ whoops -- not very optimistic 7. Immediately pulled it out of the oven, out of the water, then back in the oven. (was that bad? Maybe. Probably ruined) 8. Left it in oven overnight. 7ish hrs. (was that too long? Definitely ruined) 9. In the morning CC was flat, pulled away from sides of pan and"crackless" (apparently all good things--maybe its ok) 10. Didn't know when to take it out of the pan, waited till last minute (did I mess up the crust? The easiest part?) carefully used icing spatula to get it off the bottom of pan. NP. 11. Crust edges a little soggy, but dried up after an hour. (not bad) 12. Best cheesecake my family had ever eaten! (shucks :) ) creamy on the inside, not too sweet, delicious alone or with the blueberry glaze prepared by my daughter! I am so exited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I made this without reading any of the comments - my cream cheese was cold, and I used my mixer to blend everything together (i.e. didn't blend the extra ingredients by hand). As I made this in the evening, I didn't have 5-6 hours to leave in in the oven... so I just left it for 3 hours, then used a sharp knife to go around the edge before I put it into the fridge. It turned out perfectly! No cracking, nice texture throughout and very delicious. The only thing I would do differently is add some sugar to the crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcjewel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is my go to cheesecake! It never cracks and is alway delicious. My husband requests often! I have made this cheesecake for many occasions and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Guler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Wow!! I cannot believe how good - and easy - this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I wanted a smaller cheesecake (crazy I know) so I cut the recipe in half. It worked perfectly! The cheesecake was the perfect texture and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I ran out of vanilla only used 1/2 tablespoon. And I used heavy cream instead of milk. I must say I will never use any other cheesecake recipe it was the best I have ever made. Kudos to the originator of this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe did not work out fo me. The cake rose and cracked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENNI932000
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Turned out perfect! Cheesecake came out beautiful and no cracks. I cooked in a water bath and changed the crust a little. I crushed the 15 graham crackers and it seemed like a lot. I looked up a recipe for a basic cheesecake crust. Mix 1 1/2 graham cracker crumbs with 1/3 butter and 1/3 c sugar. Bake crust at 350 for 8 min and then fill with cheesecake batter and bake another hour. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNI932000
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Perfect classic cheesecake. As another reviewer said, it is a "purist's" cheesecake. I followed the recipe and directions exactly, and it turned out wonderful! Cheesecake Factory, eat your heart out :) We eat it plain or with raspberry sauce and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroy, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melanieblack22
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Excellent. Don't put too much grease in the bottom like I did and keep to the exact serving of butter if you want more crunch to the crust! Awesome and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States