Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I have been making cheesecakes for a long time. however, I always made them in a pie plate with a similar recipe using about half of each ingredient. this was my first cheesecake using a spring pan. It came out wonderful. I used 18 "full sheets" (2 packages) of graham crackers mixed with 1/3 melted butter for crust. I made the filling exactly as the recipe called, except I alternated adding the milk and eggs (I also beat each egg prior to adding it to the batter. ...a trick I learned on Emeril a long time ago. it helps the egg incorporate better) *be sure to use all room temp ingredients. When pouring cheesecake into pan, I used all the batter minus about 1/3 cup. The batter was about 1/3" from the brim, so very full.. this initially worried me, but it's fine! I baked it at 350 for 1 hour, then left the door closed and turned off the oven. when i checked on it thru the door, I was horrified to see the middle was all sunken in and the outsides were fluffy. but. ......after the cake cooled, the sides flattened out and it looked perfect. Mine did Crack...but no bigs. I put some strawberries on top and no one knew. Try it! Don't be intimidated! This tastes just like a "Cheesecake Factory" cheesecake. xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This recipe lived up to its reviews. I was worried about making it. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and greased the sides of my pan, used only the mixer for the cream cheese and sugar and cooked it for the 60 minutes then left it in the oven for 6 hours without opening the door. It came out perfect with no cracks. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Travis Lambert
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
made this one this weekend, turned out great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Lambert
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I have made this many many times and it is always a hit! I LOVE THIS RECIPE. Just a few hints: ALL ingredients should be at room temperature before you start so the batter is smooth without being overbeaten; instead of greasing your pan use a round piece of parchment paper in the bottom (easy to find in baking aisle) and cut two strips of parchment to go around the sides; and place a baking pan of hot water on the lowest shelf in your oven under the cheesecake. Changes I made after making it EXACTLY like the recipe: 3 tablespoons butter for the crust; add 1/2 tablespoon ground ginger for the crust (I like the flavor and it cuts the sweetness); and sour cream topping (1 cup sour cream mixed with 1/4 cup white sugar spread on top of cheesecake 10 minutes before it's done & then finish as per recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Mine might cracke a little but it still looks and tastes great. Everyone loved it and I love how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mosher
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Finally an EASY cheesecake that works and tastes restaurant-quality. It was even easier for me than the recipe requires as I did not have the time to leave it cooling in the oven for 6 hours, but did so for only about 2 - 2 1/2 hours. Still worked great. No cracks! Some reviewers it seems still used the water bath. I didn't and it turned out fine. My crust seems to have gotten a bit over-toasty, but I am beginning to suspect that my oven runs a little hot, so I will adjust accordingly. Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I use this recipe all the time, but I add ingredients to it. I add ores or candybars and it is super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forchue
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Love it!!!!! Very easy to do, not many ingredients, very simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forchue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This cake is so delicious. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This cheesecake is great for starters! I have been complimented by both family and the office that this looks professional and is one of the best homemade cheesecakes that they've had. I may have whipped the filling too much the second time I made it, which lead to the surface breaking. It is also great served with fresh fruit compote!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States