Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CHERYLBH
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Made as written & it turned out great! Only things I did different were to use parchment paper on the bottom of my spring form pan & bake in a waterbath. Turned out beautifully smooth... NO cracks... and cut easily, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Absolutely loved it! My cheesecake cracked, but in the defense of the recipe it was my first ever time trying a cheesecake ever. I believe the more i cook cheesecake ill get better with that. But the taste is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe is very good. This is my second time making it. The first time I did exactly as described and the top turned out too dark but luckily I was topping it with strawberries and pineapple. I don't like to do the waterbath with cheesecakes and leaving it in the oven as directed it did not crack which is wonderful. Today when I made it I did tweak the directions a little, I made it with the same ingredients however, I lowered the temp to 300 and baked it for an hour and twenty mins. It turned out great. Great color and no cracks. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This came out PERFECT!! Followed recipe as is. I used waterbath as well as lined sides of pan with parchment paper. I am no stranger to making (or eating) cheesecake. I was just browsing for a new recipe saw all the reviews and thought i would give it a try and soooo glad i did!!! However i did remember after i was all done that i forgot the cornstarch!! Did not miss it! For those negative reviewers...I CANNOT imagine what they did wrong..I would have to wonder if they have ever eaten cheesecake whee the recipe was not on the side of a JELLO box! THIS IS A KEEPER!! I wish reviewers would stop complaining that "ny cheesecake has no crust" So make yours without crust and be quiet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandymom
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My very first homemade cheesecake and all I can say is wow! This recipe is almost perfect. I only made a few slight alterations. I used the crust recipe from the other reviews and I baked it at 335 degrees for 1hr 10 mins, then shut off oven and left it in there for only 3 hrs, cracking the oven door the last hr. Then put it in the fridge. It came out flawless, no cracks and the taste was absolutely divine. Firm but still very creamy. Better than I have had in a lot of restaurants. I used my stand mixer the whole way through, made sure the ingredients were at room temperature, sprayed the spring form pan with Pam, and put it in a water bath in a pizza pan. Don't forget these steps and you should be golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Just made this today; was in the oven for at least an hour after baking, and before I even took it out, the top was cracking. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I did get a small crack and I did find it to be a little eggy. But overall a good cheesecake. That being said, I am still looking for the perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Divine!!! With the exception of adding more butter to crust mixture and pre baking it for 10 minutes, I followed the recipe to the tee. This turned out beautifully!!! First cheesecake I've ever made. Not one crack or sinking!! I baked it for one hour then left it in the oven for the whole six hours to cool. Dont open the oven door!!!Made a fresh blackberry reduction to drizzle on top! Complete awesomeness!!! A must try...You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tox
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Its a beautiful recipe and mine turned out awesome . I agree with Morena , if you are a first timer research the web . Baking just like cooking is an art and you have to learn certain fundamentals and techniques . It comes with time and practice . Let's use this space to learn, share and teach rather than trash recipes . 5 stars for this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
No changes! Husband loved it. It did crack but tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States