Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was my first time ever making Cheesecake and it came out delicious. I followed the directions exactly. Thank you for sharing this recipe will definitely be added to our household favorite desserts. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was my first time making a New York Cheesecake and it turned out great. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. I just made sure the ingredients were at room temperature and did not over mix. I didn't have any foil to wrap the bottom of the springform pan so I just put a small pan of water on the rack below the cheesecake pan and it turned out wonderful with no cracks in it. I baked it for 1 hour and then left it in the oven for 4 hours. Once it cooled I then refrigerated it. The family said it was the best cheesecake they had ever ate. This will be my go to recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My best friend and I tried this recipe. It was...bleh, ok. We are not by any means professional bakers, so I'm sure we made some rookie mistake (like over beating the cream cheese, which I saw in the comments). However, the graham cracker crust I felt was too dry and needed more butter to hold it together. Also, the cooking time recommended burnt our cake! :-( Our cake did NOT crack, though! We cooked it for the recommended 1 hour at 350, then let it sit for 5.5 hours. The cake itself was a bit gritty (over whipping, I guess) and lacked flavor. We topped with strawberries but I think the overcooking really just killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Divacat
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I had tried several slices of the famous New York - style cheesecake before trying to make it myself. I had even tried a couple of cheesecakes while in NYC. Since I'm from abroad, I was reluctant to try to make this at home, but after coming back from New York we decided there was no way we were going to get that same taste/creamyness/quality here in cafes/restaurants in Spain. Therefore, i decided to look for a recipe to make it myself at home, and we bumped into this one. I decided to give it a try with light cream cheese and a lot more crust. The result? Heaven on Earth. The only downside to this recipe is that the baking temperature might be too high. I just made my second cheesecake, this time following the recipe to a tee and it's still too brown on the top for my taste. So i guess that baking with a lower oven temp could do the trick, or maybe even lowering the rack a bit. Still...i give this a 5 star!!! We will never buy cheesecake here again! This recipe is fool-proof if you: -use good quality ingredients - have all ingredients at room temp -use a huge mixing bowl -leave it in the oven to cool down (4-5hours) before chilling it in the fridge the steps are better explained in Chef's john's version but this is the recipe I followed so this is the one I'm rating. I have yet to try the water bath (bain Marie) If you want an easy, heavenly cheese cake recipe, THIS IS IT! Mine didn't crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allaya
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love this recipe this is the number one cheesecake go to the only thing is I beat my cream cheese too much so it cracked but it's okay because I like and my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exact and it came out wonderful. Everyone thought the cake came from a bakery. It wasn't overly sweet like some cheesecakes can be. This tastes how a cheesecake should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Hands Down...best cheesecake I have ever made. I will never use another recipe! The only change I make, and I found this out by accident....I no longer add the flour, leave this out!! The texture will be perfect, not heavy, and no cracking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I've tried this recipe three times. I followed it exactly the first time, used a larger pan the second, and followed it exactly again for the third. Every time, it rises out of the pan, falls down in the center, and burns on top. The second time, when I used a larger pan, it still rose and collapsed in the center but the pan was large enough to hold it. It tastes okay, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andersen Loes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this to recipe, it turned out perfect! I have never had cracking happen from not greasing the pan,(I never remember to grease the pan) but I do know if you over stir, it will crack for sure. I use my kitchenaid mixer on the lowest speed and let it stir until it is smooth. When I pour it into the pan I tap to make sure any bubbles are out. I made fresh berry compotes to drizzle over, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnya Kohrdt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrew Mudd Sr.
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I have always enjoyed making Cheese cakes.. but when I tried this recipe the cake came out great.. the taste, texture, and the way it looked. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States