Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This cheesecake was unimpressive. I followed the directions to a tee. The only thing I added on my own was a tablespoon of sugar to the batter because when I tried it, it was very tangy. Neverthess, it wasn't tasty at all. The batter needed so much more sugar, at least one full cup. It wasn't smooth or creamy either. It tasted like a block of cream cheese formed into a cake. Will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have never made cheesecake before. Made this recipe exactly as instructed, without any modifications. It came out perfectly- thick, creamy, and the perfect amount of sweetness. As a bonus, it didn't crack. My boyfriend feels it is restaurant quality or better... And I'd have to agree. Note: I was sure to only hand-mix (and avoid over-mixing) after creaming together sugar and cream cheese. This was noted in other reviews and think it may have helped my success. I greased the pan and followed the baking instructions. I did crack the oven at 3 hours to help with cooling, and then put it in the fridge at 4 hours (we got a little impatient). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Perfect and delicious. That's all I can say. This recipe is fabulous and is definitely worth your time. The first time I made this was probably the best tasting and it may never be the same again but no matter how the taste changes for me it will always be PERFECT AND DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
If you are looking for a New York style cheesecake, look no further than this recipe. It's thick, creamy and downright delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. I did get a few cracks around the edges but I could tell, as it was cooking, that it was sticking to the sides as it was rising. I will make sure to grease the sides more thoroughly next time. Thank you, Taliesen, for this beautiful recipe!...and thank you Morina for the helpful tips in your comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
made this for my kids on sunday, this is the best cheesecake,everyone loved it.thanks for sharing the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil H
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I just made this recipe. And it is probably the best cheesecake I have ever tried. Tastes professional. I wasn't sure how many cups of graham cracker crumbs 15 cookies would be so I added melted butter to the crumbs and kept adding till the crust was As thick as I like it. I also added a splash of lemon juice though I can't taste it. I used 1% milk and low fat sour cream as that's all I had. For the vanilla I used vanilla bean paste. I followed the baking instructions but did not do a water bath. Cheesecake turned out amazing although there was a Crack which didn't matter as I cut up slices anyway. The cake tasted the best the next day. I have distributed this recipe to everyone who tried It. Thanks for an amazing recipe. H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I have made this cheese cake on three different occasions and was commended for how good it was. It will have you coming back for seconds. Just yummy ........mmmm Oh, and if you follow the instructions as indicated it should not crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Cervantes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Maybe I didn't cook it long enough but I've made cheesecakes for 10years and never did i have one split in half and not be cooked all the way through! It shouldn't take all day to cook first of all, I'm so disappointed. Never will I ever use this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellen
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
As one other viewer mentioned, if you screw this up its your own fault. I did use half & half cream and added vanilla with wet ingredients. Took this to a Super Bowl party and it was the winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States