Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brandymom
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My very first homemade cheesecake and all I can say is wow! This recipe is almost perfect. I only made a few slight alterations. I used the crust recipe from the other reviews and I baked it at 335 degrees for 1hr 10 mins, then shut off oven and left it in there for only 3 hrs, cracking the oven door the last hr. Then put it in the fridge. It came out flawless, no cracks and the taste was absolutely divine. Firm but still very creamy. Better than I have had in a lot of restaurants. I used my stand mixer the whole way through, made sure the ingredients were at room temperature, sprayed the spring form pan with Pam, and put it in a water bath in a pizza pan. Don't forget these steps and you should be golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Just made this today; was in the oven for at least an hour after baking, and before I even took it out, the top was cracking. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I did get a small crack and I did find it to be a little eggy. But overall a good cheesecake. That being said, I am still looking for the perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Divine!!! With the exception of adding more butter to crust mixture and pre baking it for 10 minutes, I followed the recipe to the tee. This turned out beautifully!!! First cheesecake I've ever made. Not one crack or sinking!! I baked it for one hour then left it in the oven for the whole six hours to cool. Dont open the oven door!!!Made a fresh blackberry reduction to drizzle on top! Complete awesomeness!!! A must try...You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tox
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Its a beautiful recipe and mine turned out awesome . I agree with Morena , if you are a first timer research the web . Baking just like cooking is an art and you have to learn certain fundamentals and techniques . It comes with time and practice . Let's use this space to learn, share and teach rather than trash recipes . 5 stars for this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
No changes! Husband loved it. It did crack but tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I think this is basically a great recipe for New York style Cheesecake. I made it the first time as instructed with the exception of adding sugar, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg to my crust mixture. I also let the ingredients come to room temperature, wrapped the bottom up the sides of my pan in aluminum foil, and baked in a water bath. I ended up with an overly brown top, no cracks, and too wet in the middle for my taste. I like a creamy, yet fairly firm texture. This is a recipe for those who like their NY Cheesecake's VERY creamy. I made it again and changed a little more up. The first time, after adding the flour last I had noticed more lumps. This time I whisked about 2/3 cup of milk (instead of the 3/4)and the 1/4 cup of flour in a bowl before adding to the cream cheese/ sugar mixture. I added the eggs last after the rest of the ingredients, then detached the bowl and stirred a bit by hand. I baked the cake in the oven at 325 for 1 hour and let it cool inside for 3 hours. I opened the door and left it for another hour before storing in the fridge. I ended up with a beautiful top, a creamy but firm texture,and enjoyed it more to my liking. I added these alterations to my comment, because several people tweak recipes to their liking and even though it changes some, it is so other people can read this and try it to appease a preferred taste or texture similar to mine. This recipe is great for tweaking or leaving as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah245

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zulema
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for cheesecake. I love that the texture can be modified to be creamier by leaving out the flour or made drier and more cake-like by adding a little more flour. I change my crust recipe to a shortbread one (found on "New York cheesecake III" recipe which i also use but prefer this one with less ingredients) its 1 1/2 Cups flour, 1/3 Cup white sugar, 1/2 unsalted butter, and one egg. Mix the flour, sugar and butter together until butter is small crumbs then add egg and flatten into a greased springform pan. Bake for 15 mins at 400. Let cool, re-grease the pan sides and place extra long foil around the pan. Make sure the foil is covering the sides completely and then make the cheesecake. While you make the cheesecake place a large saucepan on the stove and fill with water. Bring to a boil. I place my springform pan into a large cake pan and fill the cheesecake. I put this in the oven and carefully pour the water into the surrounding cakepan. The water should come up to about 1/2 way. Then I let bake 1 to 1 1/2 hours until cheesecake is fairly firm. This is called a bain-marie (water bath). It ensures even baking and keeps the cheesecake moist. Ive never had a cheesecake crack when I do this. I take mine out of the oven, wait a few mins and pour the leftover water out. Remove the foil and pop into the fridge or freezer. This all sounds like a lot of work but its really not lol. My family, friends and co-workers beg for this cheesecake and this makes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I use this recipe a lot. It is a lot fluffier than an average cheesecake but it tastes exactly the same. I have to make an oatmeal crust since I have a vegetable oil intolerance (probably a chemical since I can eat pressed oils) and graham crackers always have some sort of vegetable oil. It still turns out really excellent. It always cracks but I don't worry too much, its easier to top the cheesecake with fruit sauce and pretend its not there than worry about water baths and cooling times. The hardest part is keeping the boys away from it for a day to truly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States