Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I followed recipe but used a block of Greek cream cheese and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I adore cheesecake and have made many. Given the reviews, I thought this would be a slam dunk. The good: beautiful, creamy texture and flawless instructions so it baked up beautifully with no cracks in sight. The bad: total sugar bomb. 1-1/2 c of sugar and a full tablespoon of vanilla is too much and made it almost inedible for me. The only change I made was adding the zest of a whole lemon and even that wasn't enough to cut the overwhelming sweet. I've never met a cheesecake I didn't like but I left half of a slice on my plate and am wondering how I'm going to deal with what's left of the cake. It definitely wasn't my favorite and I doubt I would make it again. That being said, if you don't mind super sweet desserts this should be your go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Richard Young
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This cheesecake is amazing! Light and delicious. I followed the recipe to the letter. Even the 5 hours in the (off) oven. I used a 9 inch springform and it filled it and made for a tall cheesecake. This recipe I will use again most definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was great! My only criticism is that the crust was too dry, so it was still in cracker crumb condition even after baking, so I'm going to stick to my tried-and-true crust recipe in the future. I used blanched almond flour instead of all-purpose, since I don't keep all-purpose at home. I used one of my mom's cheesecake tricks, which is making everything in the food processor, and it turned out perfectly, aside from the crumbly crust. I didn't open the oven from the time it went in until 7 hours later when I took it out. The taste and texture are fantastic, just what I was looking for. New staple for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing recipe! First time I made it I got rave reviews. Now I have to make it for everyone's birthday at work. The only change I made was taking a package of Oreos (birthday cake filling, berry filling, or regular) put it in a processor (cream filling and all) then pressed into bottom of spring pan. Top with a can of strawberry pie filling...Absolutely divine! Will try incorporating white chocolate next time! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I tried it and it tasted great! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I recieved so many compliments! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I omitted the milk and flour and it was perfect. It isn't overly sweet which we all loved. There was a slight crack but not extensive so it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
A standard I have to make for the holidays! Excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by djvander
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delicious! I followed he recipe exactly except two small exceptions. (1) I used the crust recipe on the back of the crushed graham cracker box (1-1/4 c. Crushed graham crackers, 1/4 c. Sugar, 5 T. Butter). (2) The whole reason I was making a cheesecake was to use some guava butter I made earlier that turned out a little runny. I poured half the batter into the pan, added a few spoonfuls of guava butter, poured the rest of the batter in the pan, drizzled a few more spoonfuls of guava butter, and then swirled with a knife. I followed the baking directions as they are printed and it turned out perfectly! Impressive presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States