Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
So good! I followed the filling recipe exactly, although I did warm up the ingredients on the preheating oven so they weren't cold. For the crust, I used 1 sleeve crushed crackers, 1/2 stick butter, and 1/3 cup brown sugar. SO GOOD - but should have doubled. Wrapped spring pan in two layers of big, heavy duty foil, no issues with water coming in. I poured a full kettle of boiling water in large roasting pan bath. Put in 350 oven for 60 min, then just turned oven off. No cracks and perfectly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Liu
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I tried this few weeks ago. It was fantastic! Everyone tasted it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
All I can say is WOW!! I followed the recipe exactly and my cheesecake turned out amazing. The only thing I forgot was to grease the pan in the beginning, so the cheesecake did crack. But it was easily covered up by my topping. I made a lemon blueberry compote using half a bag if frozen blueberries, the zest and juice from one lemon and sugar to sweeten it up. Simmered until thickened and poured on top of cheesecake. It was my first cheesecake and everyone said it tasted gourmet! Seems like a fool proof recipe, I enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Well I am here to tell you that the reviews are true. You cannot ruin this cheesecake if you follow the recipe. I didn't even have a mixer, I did the mixing by hand and remember DO NOT NOT OVER BEAT. Take your time it is so worth it. Also Don't over bake. BAKE 1 HOUR THEN LEAVE IT IN THE OVEN 6 HOURS, DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR TILL THEN. It came out perfect and it IS NY CHEESECAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
No fail delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Back in the 90's there was a show called 'Martin', on it was a character named "Shenay-nay"! Her trademark saying was, "Oh my Guuudness!". Well, haven't thought about that young lady in years, why did she come to my mind when I ate my first piece?!?! Oh my Guuudness!!!!! I can't believe I made this. I am a scattered cook with not a lot of confidence honestly, but this was awesome! I decreased flour to 2 Tbs, tweaked crust: 1 1 /2 c. graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 c. white sugar, 1/4 c. finely chopped Unsalted nuts ( pecans), 1/4 c. melted butter, 1 tsp. cinn. No water bath was used but would like to try so I can measure difference. I read reviews b4 I started, only changed what was necessary for my taste, because I knew I wouldn't want a cakey cheesecake (flour), and love a good crust on my desserts. I actually took it out after 1 1/2 hrs, no cracks!!! made a simple topping: 8 oz sour cream ,2 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract. If there were any imperfections, it would have been covered by this yummy topping. Used strawberry pie filling to gather berries from and put them in two rows around edges. I never review/rate anything, but I had to let you all know.......FoolProof! Amazing! Thank all who reviewed this recipe before I attempted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was my first attempt at cheesecake and it was a hit. I will certainly make this again and again. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It's good but I wouldn't say it's the perfect cheesecake. I've made it twice now and both times, it has really cracked. Not that I care if it cracks, but if you follow the recipe perfectly, it will crack. Now to me the flavor is the more important part of these cheesecake and it is in this area that I find this recipe lacking. I wish it was a more creamy texture. The second time I made the cheesecake I did cut back on the flour (used about 1/8 cup), and decreased eggs. I also added sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to the crust. These were good variations but still is just isn't quite as creamy of a cheesecake as I'd like. I'd say it almost reminds me more of a custard. I may try the recipe again and cut out an entire egg. Another note: it must cool all the way and be refrigerated for several hours! The first time I made it my S/O convinced me we should try it early (had been in over for about 5 hours but not in fridge for very long), the consistency was completely off! We were both disappointed. The next morning his son grabbed a piece and said how good it was, so we tried it again, it was a night and day difference! We vowed never to rush it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I have made this recipe many times over the years! I half the sugar as I do not like my desserts to be overpoweringly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaturallyEast

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States