Channa Masala (Chickpea Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious, healthy and quick to make. Makes a nice side dish or a filling main dish. Thanks for your contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My husband is not a fan of vegetarian so I added ground beef. I did not have cumin seeds, rice flour or garbanzo beans. I substituted cumin powder, white flour, and navy beans. It turned out a little bland but it hit the spot! I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was VERY good. I made more or less the same as instructed, except I used cumin powder instead of seed and didn't blend together into a paste (it was good chunky!). Make sure to add the cilantro as a garnish, it definitely adds flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I loved this recipe. SO easy, freezes awesome for lunch and VERY budget friendly. I've shared this with all my friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great taste and quick and easy to make. It's a keeper! I found that I needed to simmer (covered) for about 10-15 extra minutes to further soften the chickpeas and meld/thicken the sauce. The extra time really brought out the seasonings. Prior to that is was very tomato-y .... and not that rich tomato flavor, but a thin, fresh tomato flavor. Otherwise did everything exactly as the recipe stated. So good--just like my local Indian food buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
LOVED this! I pretty much made it as the recipe calls, except I didn't have cumin seeds or fresh ginger (but I am pleased with the taste I got from the powdered substitutes). I also really like cilantro, so I at least doubled the amount. And because I had some chicken, I threw some of that in there, too. I will TOTALLY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diggindc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
i was having a lazy day, looking for something easy and found that i had all the ingredients for this already. Instead of blending things, I just threw everything in the skillet together so it came out chunkier and less sauce-like. since my spices have been in the cabinet for years, i decided to try 3 tsp of cumin seeds and 3 tsp of the curry powder. I had an extra tomato I wanted to get rid of so I threw it in on top of the other 2. It looked a little dry so I added a splash of water. not exactly like you get in a restaurant, but the flavor is perfect, and this recipe was just what i needed to get a general idea of how to make the dish. i served it over orzo since rice takes forever to cook. hallelujah for quick, easy, lazy-day recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was very good, though I did make some modifications to it: I tried to roast the cumin seeds as directed, but I didn't have much luck with that, so I ended up scooping them out of the pan and using cumin powder instead. After I followed the recipe, I didn't like the flavor too much (I felt I could still taste the "canned" flavor of the chickpeas), so I added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste and some more cumin and curry. I'll admit that the first night it was... ok. The second day, it was better, and the third day, WOW, it was great. I really loved the texture that came from putting the tomatoes and onions in the blender. I wasn't sure it would be worth the effort, but it actually gave the sauce a nice smoothness that I really enjoyed. I will definitely try it again (with no changes) and see how it goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
really, really good and very easy to prepare. I used ground cumin instead, adding after cooking the onions 5 minutes, and also added 8 0z. of yogurt at the end, cooking maybe 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States