Channa Masala (Chickpea Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yum! Added some lightly cooked cauliflower and lots of cayenne pepper. Served with plain yogurt and flatbread. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nursegirl
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was delicious and exactly what I was looking for! I used ingredients that I had on hand- like a 14 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes with garlic for the tomatoes, ground cumin and ginger and regular all purpose flour. It was simply delicious over jasmine rice and economical too. I will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Overall a pleasant dish, though it needed a bit more seasoning. Easy to make and my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Delicious and so easy. Perfect weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband found this recipe trying to find uses for an abundance of chick peas (owns a commercial kitchen and someone over-ordered). We made this last night and it was delicious! We didn't have rice flour, so used 1T. regular white flour and he doubled the curry powder as someone else posted. Served it over brown rice. We will be making this again. Great vegetarian dinner. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Made this dish for my family (5 adults, 2 kids, 1 toddler) and doubled the recipe. Everyone seemed to enjoy it so well that it really wasn't enough. If you're in to spicy Indian food you'll have to add it because this is quite mild. When asking around if everyone liked it I got a "yes", but the true test was from my brother. He has been to India and apparently it still has a bit to go in order to truly taste like the real thing, although he still gobbled it down without any complaint. Cooking and prep time is very reasonable and with a bit of hunting I was able to find all ingredients in my local Publix grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSENIKKI2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vburrito
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Freezes & reheats really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is good! I'd had channa masala at an Indian restaurant recently and wanted to try making it. Very simple and tasty, though it seemed a little bland to me at first so I doubled the curry powder at the end. It was lovely after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Things I did.. I marinated my garbanzo beans in some garam masala overnight. This adds depth to the dish. I sauteed the onion in canola oil, added ginger then (1) 28oz can of chopped tomatoes. Cooked thoroughly. Added beans and used an immersion blender to puree a little bit. I then added (1) 14oz can of lite coconut milk. Cooked a little further. Tasted it to check to see if it needed anything. I added a couple more shakes of garam masala. Simmered on the stove for another 10 minutes. Served over rice. Only giving it 3 stars b/c as written I think it needs some tweaking. Possibly 4 stars with my tweaking. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was pretty good, but needed more flavor. I plan on adding tumeric and a Basil leaf while it simmers next time. I will make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States