Chana Masala (Savory Indian Chick Peas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Quite easy to make. It ended up being a bit too spicy for me (but I can't take anything spicy! So don't worry, it's me, not the recipe) so I added some coffee cream in to counteract it. Turned out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I loved this recipe! The second time I made it I used canned tomatos and it turned out just fine! I prefer fresh, but in a pinch canned worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavy metal in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I tasted this dish at Costco, and loved it! I cook with chick peas a lot, so I was game to try making it myself. It was very easy, I had my 13 year old daughter make it, and it came out pretty good. We skipped the green chile and bay leaf, we didn't have any in the house. It is very savory, and very mild tasting- not one spice overpowering the dish. I used 2 cups of organic dry garbanzo beans, which I soak all day, then boil for about an hour. They were nice and tender, and from that point the preparation of the dish is very quick. Looking forward to eating over some brown rice tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupita Eyde Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Love this recipe. I make it 1 to 2 times a week ...I'm completely addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Very yummy and flavorful! Followed recipe as written and will make it again. May also try adding in other veggies with the chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I just made this tonight. I made some modifications…used a can of tomatoes, 1/2 can diced green chiles, used 1/4 tsp. powdered ginger, added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne, and left out the coriander because I didn't have any. This recipe only took me maybe 15 minutes to make because of the canned ingredients (oh, the canned tomatoes made it so that I didn't have to add water at the end). This tasted wonderful! I go to Indian restaurants often and it definitely rivaled the chana masala I've had there. My husband also loved it. There was enough sauce that I probably could have added another can of chickpeas and it would have still been fine. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely, fantastically, delicious. My son's East Indian girlfriend gave it her blessing and said it was a very authentic tasting dish. For that, I'm thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I just chopped the vegetables, I did not make this into a paste. The taste was hot and spicy, the way I enjoy my food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
We enjoyed this. I didn't measure any of the ingredients, just went by smell and taste, but kept the proportions close to the recipe, because I started with dry garbanzo beans. I would surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States