Chana Masala (Savory Indian Chick Peas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
My Chana Masala turned out perfectly! I used a 15oz can of petite diced tomatoes with green chilies, and bought the "hot" version for some extra spice. I also used ginger garlic paste that I picked up from the indian grocery store, and used about 2 tablespoons. I loves cilantro so I threw a handful into the dish as well as garnished with it. Finally, I think I did add about a tsp of salt versus a 'dash'. It turned out spicy and flavorful, just how I like it! It's very filling and so quick to whip up! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I found that to get a 'golden brown color' and 'separation of the oil', I had to saute this for 20-30 minutes instead of 2-3. The overcooking must have released a bitter component (from the onion, garlic or ginger). I like the idea of using the blender instead of chopping and grating, but next time would follow the direction to saute for only a few minutes and ignore the direction to saute until golden brown or until the oil separates. Doing the latter two ruined the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Wow. Really disappointed in this. I followed the recipe exactly and the spicing tasted off, the paste was too liquidy, etc. I actually ended up washing off some of the chickpeas and just eating them plain for dinner. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Flavorful and perfect!! It was so easy to make and it's perfect for getting protien for a vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Bland for my palate. Added another teaspoon gaman masala and over one teaspoon of ground cumin. Extra salt. Next time I will add another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I added juice from half a lime. And a lot more garam masala and cumin than a teaspoon, like 1/4 cup each. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
definitely needs at least a tsp of salt rather than the suggested "dash", but otherwise this was great! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
this recipe is okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Loved it! The only thing I'll do differently next time is sauté the onions and garlic before blending them. They never quite cooked, but even still the end result was pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Tasty, though my onion and tomato mixture never quite browned. After adding the spices, it was definitely looking more like it "should have", though. Definitely needs some salt at the end to bring out the spices, but easy, fun to make, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States