Champagne Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Enjoyed this for a weeknight dinner! Took others' advice and pounded chicken, seasoned the flour, deglazed the pan w/ the champagne and added fresh garlic with the mushrooms. I can say that after 20 minutes of "almost boiling," my champagne was gone, so I will try covering next time. Very good over rice. Will definitely try again. The chicken was very tender. Oh, I also added butter to my olive oil to help with browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I didn't like this at ALL. What a waste of fantastic champagne! It was very VERY bland, as others have commented. I finally threw in some parmesean cheese, so it might have SOME flavor. If you like FLAVOR, stay away! Mine turned out HORRIBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was alright....I liked the flavor that the champagne offered, but do agree with others that the dish, overall, was fairly bland. I did season my chicken with garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper before flouring it and served it with some broccoli rice. I would try this one again...with some minor modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I didn't think this was bland at all. It was really excellent--my husband and I devoured it. The only change I made was adding 2 cloves of minced garlic when I added the mushrooms. I used a brut champagne. Will make again when we have champagne to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Good to have after New Year's Day so you can use the leftover champagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This recipe can be great, with a few modifications. After I pounded the chicken breasts I breaded them is self rising flour heavily seasoned. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I browned the chicken breasts in olive oil and butter, to give them a really nice golden brown coating. Then I removed the chicken breasts, and deglazed the pan with the champagne. I used more champagne than was called for, (more sauce) and added some minced garlic and dried onions when I added the chicken back to the pan. I then added the mushrooms (the more the better), and simmered them for 20 mins. When I added the cream I did not measure, I just added as much as it took to thicken the sauce. I imagine it was about 2 cups like the recipe suggested. I served this with mashed potatoes and broccoli, however I think it would be great with rice cooked in chicken broth. A very yummy recipe, but more champagne and more seasoning is necessary. Also the self rising flour makes a great coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend on our anniversary & he loved it! Given I'm not a great cook at all, this recipe was relatively simple and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Avery

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. He calls it "Drunk Chicken." I do agree it needs a little spicing up if you don't like things bland like I do. I always end up needing more champagne. You do want something on the dry side which will be less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This smelled amazing when I cooked it and it got rave reviews! It was really easy to make, too. Definitely a recipe I plan to use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Just made this for dinner and can I say YUM! I did brown chicken in 1T butter and 1T oil and I used half and half instead of heavy cream. The chicken melt in my mouth. I served over rice and with steamed asparagus. We couldn't get enough of the sauce on the rice. I will definitly be making this on a regular basis. Quick and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States