Champagne Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I didn't like this at ALL. What a waste of fantastic champagne! It was very VERY bland, as others have commented. I finally threw in some parmesean cheese, so it might have SOME flavor. If you like FLAVOR, stay away! Mine turned out HORRIBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was alright....I liked the flavor that the champagne offered, but do agree with others that the dish, overall, was fairly bland. I did season my chicken with garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper before flouring it and served it with some broccoli rice. I would try this one again...with some minor modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I didn't think this was bland at all. It was really excellent--my husband and I devoured it. The only change I made was adding 2 cloves of minced garlic when I added the mushrooms. I used a brut champagne. Will make again when we have champagne to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Good to have after New Year's Day so you can use the leftover champagne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This recipe can be great, with a few modifications. After I pounded the chicken breasts I breaded them is self rising flour heavily seasoned. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I browned the chicken breasts in olive oil and butter, to give them a really nice golden brown coating. Then I removed the chicken breasts, and deglazed the pan with the champagne. I used more champagne than was called for, (more sauce) and added some minced garlic and dried onions when I added the chicken back to the pan. I then added the mushrooms (the more the better), and simmered them for 20 mins. When I added the cream I did not measure, I just added as much as it took to thicken the sauce. I imagine it was about 2 cups like the recipe suggested. I served this with mashed potatoes and broccoli, however I think it would be great with rice cooked in chicken broth. A very yummy recipe, but more champagne and more seasoning is necessary. Also the self rising flour makes a great coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend on our anniversary & he loved it! Given I'm not a great cook at all, this recipe was relatively simple and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Avery

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. He calls it "Drunk Chicken." I do agree it needs a little spicing up if you don't like things bland like I do. I always end up needing more champagne. You do want something on the dry side which will be less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This smelled amazing when I cooked it and it got rave reviews! It was really easy to make, too. Definitely a recipe I plan to use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Just made this for dinner and can I say YUM! I did brown chicken in 1T butter and 1T oil and I used half and half instead of heavy cream. The chicken melt in my mouth. I served over rice and with steamed asparagus. We couldn't get enough of the sauce on the rice. I will definitly be making this on a regular basis. Quick and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I thought this an excellent recipe. I Seasoned the chicken a little more by using garlic. I will experiment with other seasonings in the future to give the chicken a kick. The sauce was excellent, and there was plenty left over to combine with rice afterwards. It was an excellent addition, even without the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States