Champagne Cake With Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Electra76
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Pretty good. I baked this 2 weeks ago for a friend's birthday. It was super dense and moist. Be aware that you may need to double up the portions, as this amount listed only made a single round layer. I ended up using a pre-made mix I had in the cupboard at the last minute so that I had the double-layer I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electra76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
i tried this recipe twice and it came out dense and misshapen. dont think i will try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Love making champagne cakes. Always use Korbel Brut. And frost with a butter cream that includes butter, powdered sugar, orange zest, 2T cointreau, and champagne to the correct texture. Made 15 cakes for a recent fundraising event . . . just the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is the best cake I have ever tried in my life... I can assure you I will be making my wedding cake from this recipe - its fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eat.Sleep.Bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Micki515
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This cake was the BEST! I made it for my friend's birthday. I did make two changes. I used 1 cup of creamed butter instead of shortening. I also added 1 tablespoon of almond extract. Cake was moist, fluffy and just sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki515

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I have made this cake for several special occasions, one being a wedding. It was a HIT!! I did end up putting more champagne in both the cake and the frosting, and didn't use shortening, substituted with butter, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I am a baker and this recipe is not for me. I made it twice: once with regular AP flour - it came out very dense; again with cake flour just to lighten it up. Both times the cakes were tasteless and bready; no flavor at all and not very sweet. The buttercream icing was very tasty though and that recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe is not for anyone who likes fluffy, moist cakes. The consistency was heavy, and almost tasted like a biscuit. Not enough sugar,either. It wasn't what I expected at all. HOWEVER, the icing was wonderful, and I will be making that again. I also added a raspberry filling to the cake, which did help, but it wasn't enough to save this disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baconbutterwino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Good recipe, but it dries out quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lora Manlove-Winchester
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This cake is now a family favorite. My sister-in-law and I make it for all the birthdays that require a decorated cake. It is dense enough to hold up well with different shaped pans and the buttercream is easy to pipe. We love it! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora Manlove-Winchester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Texas, USA
Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States