Champagne Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by fhm2011
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I don't normally leave feedback on recipes, however this one was fantastic! It's light, slightly dense but not like a pound cake. I used a full cup of champagne like someone else suggested. Topped with an orange cream glaze. I haven't had this much excitement over a cake in a while. Definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I used a 10" springform pan to make this which ups the baking time to somewhere around 40 minutes or so. The texture and flavor were good. (Even with the egg whites, this is going to be close to a pound cake batter....very dense...) Instead of icing/frosting (I'm personally NOT a huge fan of those..)...I made a chocolate/seedless raspberry glaze to drizzle across the top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Flour mixture was so thick I was afraid I would burn out my mixer motor. Added egg whites and it turned to mush. The cake never cooked in the middle despite using pan insulators. The texture was coarse and grainy -- in the spots where it cooked -- and it was way too salty. I'm retired, not a novice in the kitchen, and followed all the helpful tips (used a bubbly moscato that was very tasty by itself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veritas
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Delicious! However, due to the alcohol it has an almost bread-taste that some of the people who tasted my cake found strange. Loved it though, just make sure you follow the recipe and get those egg whites to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veritas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I tested out this recipe for an upcoming wedding cake that I'll be making. Although not the simplest of recipes, it turned out delicious, everyone who tried it was really impressed. I prepared it with a simple vanilla icing, and I layered it with an irish cream filling. I am deciding not to use it for the cake, because it is a very dense, moist cake, (partially due to the filling I'm sure) and I don't think it will hold up well enough. This would be a great cake to have with tea or coffee. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This cake is awesome! I made it exactly to the recipe and it came out great. A terrific cake that I would make for any occasion. What annoys me is that a reviewer named Kim admitted to overbaking the cake and therefore gave this recipe a 3 rating. Hey, if you make a mistake, don't take it out on the recipe. Blame yourself, make it again the right way and then rate it! I think it's terrible to cut down a recipe because of the cook's error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This came out way to bready. I'm a professional baker and I followed this to the tee. I believe that it needs more sugar to tenderize, possibly more fat and most likely needs cake flour vs. AP. I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and was very disappointed. I don't even have time to make another one now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I have made this cake twice. The first time, I used a rose champagne, which was slightly sweet. The second, a drier plain champagne. My husband and I really preferred the rose champagne. I also used a whole cup, as suggested by other reviewers, and then also poured some (what I had left after drinking a couple of glasses) onto the cake after it came out of the oven. I frosted it with a rose flavored buttercream--just substitute rose extract instead of vanilla. It was delicious and everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and followed advice from other reviewers. However, my cake turned out dry and had more of a biscuit/muffin like texture rather than a cakey texture. I also could not taste much champagne. I added strawberry jam and white chocolate chips, that helped slightly. Don't think I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
The cake was good along with the icing but the icing over powered the whole cake. My advice it do one or the other not both, cause it gave me kind of a headach and this is coming from a 22 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States