Chamberlayne Chicken and Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This soup is, as my son would say, "the bomb!" Easy to make, great flavor! I read the review about the black pepper, so I reduced the amount. Fantastic on a cold night, or any night. This has become a staple in my house! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I was looking for ways to try kale and I loved this one. I like a thicker soup, so I pureed one of the cans of beans into the broth before adding the other ingredients. I also took the suggestion from another post and added rosemary to my chicken when I was baking it. Will probably also add it to the soup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Excellent and very flavorful variation of chicken soup. Refreshing combination of ingredients. I would have given it 5 stars, but we added carrots, which made it much more colorful and nutritious looking. (i.e. I think it is 5 stars with the carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very nice and easy. I'm guessing the 2 tablespoons of pepper is a typo -- wayyyyyy too much. I used approx. 1 teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Pump up the flavor by 1st gently cook onion and fresh garlic in a little olive oil. Rosemary is a fabulous herb to add to this combination. Finish off the bowl of soup with a nice healthy serving of parmesan cheese and a pinch of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedemwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This soup was great, although i made a few additions: a flour/water mixture to thicken the broth a little, 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast, and 1/8 cup of romano cheese. My boyfriend and i are adding this to our make-again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I did not read the reviews before I made it or I would have seen that another review commented on the pepper. When I made it I was skeptical of the 2 tablespoons of pepper so I only added 1 Tablespoon. It still was too much. I would only add maybe 1/2-1 teaspoon. You can always add more later. Other than that, it was pretty good. We are always looking for gook kale recipes as we frequently get it in our produce co-op and it is very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great soup! A bit bland with just the original recipe but we seasoned to our taste and it was great! Reheats great for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
i dont like broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This sounds like a great recipe. But, I followed the directions and put the 2 tablespoons of black pepper in it. The end product was too apicy and inedible. I question the use of that much pepper; otherwise it may be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States