Challah in a Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
a delicious, easy to make bread. Very adaptable to various additions of ingredients for variety, as well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have used this recipe for two years as my Easter bread and my family loves it! Also, it's perfect to do with my three year old and rises fast and easy. Everyone always wants to take some home after our Easter feast - this is a terrific bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was awesome! Sorry to say, but if it doesn't turn out, you need to look at what you did. One person wrote that it was better than traditional Challah, but since I have never had Challah, this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is my first time making bread and I absolutely love it. I cut down on the measurements. I don't want to much left over but it's so easy to make, and tastes so good. and I am going to use some for french toast for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelewr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My neighbor made it for us the first time and my whole family loved it. reminds me a little of a less sweet version of Hawaiian bread. I have made it for the past 3 year for Thanksgiving this year I am adding Christmas to it. It is always Awesome!!! I make it to the T and it always works perfect for me. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colorado Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
The first time I made Challah I used this recipe and it turned out great. This recipe usually takes 3 hours from start to finish - allowing 1 to 1 1/2 hours for the rising. I love that it makes two loaves and the presentation is beautiful. I've tried it with golden raisins but usually I make it plain with either sesame seeds or poppy seeds on top. I've heard that it's wonderful to make french toast with or bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
For those of you who didn't get it to rise...the secret with making a yeast bread is the temp of the liquid. If too much time passed from mixing the liquid to then adding it to the yeast/flour mixture then the temp would have lowered and therefore the yeast will not rise! This recipe is FABULOUS but I recommend mixing the flour mixture together FIRST. Then, in a saucepan/microwave heat your 1 1/2 c water with the 1 c butter (the butter will melt as the water heats...saves a pan and the butter won't burn!) Then make sure you add your heated water to your eggs...don't add eggs to the hot water or the eggs will scramble :). Then follow recipe. Also, if you are adding water directly to yeast then the temp should be 110. But since you are adding the hot water to a flour/yeast mixture the temp of the liquid should be 120-130 degrees. So heat the water a bit higher and make sure it's still above 115 when you add to the flour and you should get a GREAT bread. I make bread often and my husband and children RAVED about this bread! I can't vouch for whether or not it's challah since I haven't made the other "real" challah recipes, but I shall try it out and see if there's a difference. This was AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I tried it 1 1/2 months ago and I ate the whole loaf it was that good !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was so easy and so delicious. I didn't change a thing. I took one loaf to work and they raved. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is a great tasting bread. Get all dry ingredients together then mix eggs and butter and add the very warm water and immediately start mixing so the liquid is warm enough to activate yeast. Otherwise, pretty easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States