Challah in a Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This bread took much longer than 2 hours to rise and 20-30 minutes to cook. I let it rise for almost 4 hours before it doubled & baked for 30-35 minutes for complete doneness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
a delicious, easy to make bread. Very adaptable to various additions of ingredients for variety, as well!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
NO WHERE AS GOOD AS TRADITIONAL CHALLAH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2000
According to my brother-in-law it's EXCELLENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was awesome! Sorry to say, but if it doesn't turn out, you need to look at what you did. One person wrote that it was better than traditional Challah, but since I have never had Challah, this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I put this together in the morning and by noon it had almost tripled in size. The loaves lacked some flavor, but my family was still happy. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is my first time making bread and I absolutely love it. I cut down on the measurements. I don't want to much left over but it's so easy to make, and tastes so good. and I am going to use some for french toast for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelewr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This challah tasted of flour and nothing else. I made it according to directions and it was heavy and dull. Next Shabbos I will be organized and make it properly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
So as always I changed around this recipe and made it match the ingredients I had in the house. I used a quick rise yeast for the first time making Challah and a mixture of fine ground whole wheat (5cups) and spelt (2cups) flour. I never have white flour in the house. I also used honey instead of sugar it being Rosh HaShannah and had the intention of putting raisons and cinnamon init but forgt so put raisons on top of a egg/honey glaze. It wasn't as sweet as most rosh HaShonah loaves (thank goodness) and turned out fluffy and yummy and very very challahly. Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have used this recipe for two years as my Easter bread and my family loves it! Also, it's perfect to do with my three year old and rises fast and easy. Everyone always wants to take some home after our Easter feast - this is a terrific bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States