Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My first ever successful bread!(apart from cinammon rolls)My yeast didn't get big and bubbly after combining with water, just murky with little poofs. I was a bit skeptical at first because after 1 hour left near the window (it was a hot and humid afternoon), the dough did not seem to rise much, but i continued anyway. The dough was very elastic. I cut the dough into two and subsequently, into thirds and had 2 beautiful braids. Instead of egg white wash, I beat 1 egg and generously brushed it all round. I used manuka honey and it did not come out sweet for me, it's PERFECT! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I brought 4 challah breads to Shabbat and everyone raved over it . They gave me the credit , actually . That was the first challah bread that I really liked . Thank you for sharing it with us .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I thought this challah would be a little sweeter because of the 2/3 cup of honey, but it still had a nice, subtle sweetness. It made a good size loaf that had great texture. The dough does need the two teaspoons of salt for optimum flavor. I didn’t bother to use an egg wash because I had made this bread to use for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I always get compliments on it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as is for my first time - the taste is perfect - not too sweet, but sweet & delicious enough to eat it plain without any spreads/toppings. The various reviews on cooking times depend on the thickness of your loaf. Mine was a little thick and although I cooked it until it was brown and lightly crusted on top (just like Rivka's photo), it was a little doughy in the middle. For my second try, I rolled the braids a little thinner to make a thinner loaf, and it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keena_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellimea
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was the first bread I've ever made and it was easy to follow and everyone loved it! (I added sesame seeds) Perfect for french toast the next day since it's already sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent! One note--As other commenters have said, the baking time may vary--the bottom of my loaf got pretty dark before it had baked even the minimum 30 minutes, so be sure to keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
A++++++ I love love love this recipe, ever since i found this recipe i make it every week. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I just love it and so does my whol;e family! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magician176

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
thia recipe is very good, what i did change though was the baking times due to the fact that i use my pampered chef stone to bake on. to start baking i baked it for 40 minutes @ 270degrees, then i reduced it down to 350degrees for 20minutes, and that seemed to cook the inside perfect and still gave it the golden brown on the outside that we all love! Shabbat Shalom everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States