Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I brought 4 challah breads to Shabbat and everyone raved over it . They gave me the credit , actually . That was the first challah bread that I really liked . Thank you for sharing it with us .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I thought this challah would be a little sweeter because of the 2/3 cup of honey, but it still had a nice, subtle sweetness. It made a good size loaf that had great texture. The dough does need the two teaspoons of salt for optimum flavor. I didn’t bother to use an egg wash because I had made this bread to use for French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I always get compliments on it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as is for my first time - the taste is perfect - not too sweet, but sweet & delicious enough to eat it plain without any spreads/toppings. The various reviews on cooking times depend on the thickness of your loaf. Mine was a little thick and although I cooked it until it was brown and lightly crusted on top (just like Rivka's photo), it was a little doughy in the middle. For my second try, I rolled the braids a little thinner to make a thinner loaf, and it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keena_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellimea
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was the first bread I've ever made and it was easy to follow and everyone loved it! (I added sesame seeds) Perfect for french toast the next day since it's already sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent! One note--As other commenters have said, the baking time may vary--the bottom of my loaf got pretty dark before it had baked even the minimum 30 minutes, so be sure to keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
A++++++ I love love love this recipe, ever since i found this recipe i make it every week. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I just love it and so does my whol;e family! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magician176

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
thia recipe is very good, what i did change though was the baking times due to the fact that i use my pampered chef stone to bake on. to start baking i baked it for 40 minutes @ 270degrees, then i reduced it down to 350degrees for 20minutes, and that seemed to cook the inside perfect and still gave it the golden brown on the outside that we all love! Shabbat Shalom everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
absolutely loved this bread! my mother used to make something similar in my youth, and this for sure takes me back. As others stated, you do sometimes have to wait a VERY long time for the dough to rise each time. Mine took 3hrs the first time, by then it was so late, i just braided it and put it in the fridge with the wet towel on top overnite, by morning it had risen and i then finished the recipe. Very good flavor and excellent consistency. The honey added a very nice touch, i will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States