Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This bread turned out wonderful. It was fun to make too! We ate the whole loaf in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I thought my review could use updating after using this recipe for 10 years... This is most flavorful, beautiful challah recipe I've ever used. My only change is to slightly increase the salt: I use 2 heaping teaspoons. The dough doesn't always appear to have risen sufficiently, even given extra time, but by the time it's out of the over, it looks and tastes perfect. Thank you, Rivka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
This is hands-down the best bread I've ever made. Everyone goes crazy over it! The texture is dense and doughy, and the honey makes it super-sweet. I top mine with sesame seeds--simply sprinkle them on after brushing with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Wow, yum! My challah came out of the oven so beautiful. It did not rise too dramatically before baking, but more than doubled in size as it baked. The bread came out beautifully yellow and golden brown, and I could not believe I had made such a gorgeous bread. It tastes wonderful too -- light enough to make sandwiches out of, and sweet and hard to stop eating. Warning -- this makes alot. I halved the recipe and it made a LARGE loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
The bread didn't rise the first time so I just kneaded it again and it worked. So good and easy that I am making it with my Preschool class next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
The best challah I have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving...it was perfect! Made a very large loaf! The dough is a little sweet and very moist and delicious. Tastes excellent slightly warmed with butter on top. I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lexi Lou
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This recipe is wonderful!! I did change it up a bit though. I don't use alot of white flour, white sugar, etc., and sometimes have a difficult time with converting of recipes and having them turn out nicely but not this one! Perfect! With this recipe I used whole wheat pastry flour along with Agave syrup for the honey. I baked it at 325 for about 40 to 50 minutes. Turned out beautifully. Slightly crunchy outside (and a picture perfect loaf of braided bread too, wish I'd taken a picture)with a deliciously sweet dense middle. I will probably go a bit lighter on the Agave next time as it was just a tad too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This recipe is excellent! The challah comes out a lot sweeter than normal shabbat challah, but it is a nice change. I added chocolate chips to a recent batch...it was practically dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States