Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I thought my review could use updating after using this recipe for 10 years... This is most flavorful, beautiful challah recipe I've ever used. My only change is to slightly increase the salt: I use 2 heaping teaspoons. The dough doesn't always appear to have risen sufficiently, even given extra time, but by the time it's out of the over, it looks and tastes perfect. Thank you, Rivka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
This is hands-down the best bread I've ever made. Everyone goes crazy over it! The texture is dense and doughy, and the honey makes it super-sweet. I top mine with sesame seeds--simply sprinkle them on after brushing with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
The best challah I have made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving...it was perfect! Made a very large loaf! The dough is a little sweet and very moist and delicious. Tastes excellent slightly warmed with butter on top. I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This bread turned out wonderful. It was fun to make too! We ate the whole loaf in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
The bread didn't rise the first time so I just kneaded it again and it worked. So good and easy that I am making it with my Preschool class next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
i didn't really like the strong honey flavor too much, but my sister loved it. also, a bit sweeter than the typical challah. the loaf was huge, and a bit underdone in the middle (maybe my oven's too hot?) so i think next time i'll try two smaller loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
The bread was pretty good although my mistake was letting it cook too long. The recipe said to bake for 35-40 minutes and after 25 minutes in my oven it was very well done. Maybe it was my oven? The flavour is very good, although as it is quite rich I would probably only make it once or twice a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This is a recipe that I make for New Year's Eve dinner. We share with friends, and family. People always asked what the ingredients were but like my mother, grandmother I could not tell them, because its a pinch of this , six handfuls of that and so on. this is the same recipe. Thank you.Tejani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Sufganiyot (Donuts)

See how to make traditional Jewish doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States